West Chiltington, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  SussexGotoarrow.png  Sussex Parishes

West Chiltington, Sussex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred West Easwrith
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Thakeham PLU
Registration District Thakeham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1711
Bishop's Transcripts: 1571
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Storrington
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CHILTINGTON, WEST, a parish, in the union of Thakeham, partly in the hundred of East Easwrith, rape of Bramber, but chiefly in that of West Easwrith, rape of Arundel, county of Sussex, nine miles East South East. The church is a handsome structure, chiefly in the early English style, with later additions; it has a spire rising from between the nave and chancel, and a highly-enriched Norman arch at the north entrance.[1]


West Chiltington St Mary is an Ancient parish  in the Horsham District of West Sussex which included Chiltington Manor.

A history of the churchWest Chiltington St Mary

The Parish church of St Mary has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

West Chiltington Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)

See also West Chiltington Wikipedia list of places of worship in Horsham district Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 this parish was in the Thakeham Registration district until 1935 when that district was abolished in service reorganisation
Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex
Centralised Certificates Office
Registration Service
West Sussex Record Office
County Hall
Chichester
PO19 1RN
Phone: 01243 642122

Church records

West Chiltington, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
SOPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free[3]
West Chiltington, Sussex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI 1571-1879 1571-1876
SOPC Undefined
Undefined

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Chiltington, West

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474671.

See Sussex Census

Poor Law Unions

Thakeham Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 597-599. Adapted 9 May 2013. Date Accessed: 4 October 2013
  2. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 January 2014.
  3. Sussex Online Parish Clerks, accessed 7 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 23:13.
  • This page has been accessed 813 times.