West Chinnock, SomersetEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Somerset Gotoarrow.png Somerset Parishes

Guide to West Chinnock, Somerset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

West Chinnock, Somerset
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Houndsborough, Barwick and Coker
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Yeovil PLU
Registration District Yeovil
Records begin
Parish registers: 1678; For more records see Chiselborough
Bishop's Transcripts: 1636
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ilchester
Diocese Bath and Wells
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Wells
Location of Archive
Somerset Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CHINNOCK, WEST (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Yeovil, hundred of Houndsborough, Barwick, and Coker, W. division of Somerset, 3 miles (N. E. by N.) from Crewkerne. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1]


Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

West Chinnock, Somerset parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
MARR = Somerset Marriages (findmypast) - (£)[3]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[4]
SOPC = Somerset Online Parish Clerks - free[5]
West Chinnock, Somerset Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1683-1862
1704-1886
1678-1888
MARR
1609-1754

NBI

1686-1915
SOPC 1683-1760

1678-1760

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474599.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Tax records

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SOM/WestChinnock/index.html

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 599-603. Date accessed: 20 March 2013.
  2. 'Somerset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 3 February 2014.
  3. 'Somerset Marriages', findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 29 April 2014.
  4. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 17 October 2013.
  5. Somerset Online Parish Clerks Genealogy, accessed 22 October 2013.
  6. E 179 Database, The National Archives, http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/e179/, accessed 8 August 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 19:28.
  • This page has been accessed 1,126 times.