West Dean, WiltshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Wiltshire/Hampshire Gotoarrow.png Wiltshire Parishes

Guide to West Dean, Wiltshire family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

West Dean, Wiltshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Alderbury
County Hampshire
Poor Law Union Stockbridge PLU
Registration District Alderbury; Stockbridge
Records begin
Parish registers: 1754
Bishop's Transcripts: 1599
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Amesbury
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Salisbury
Location of Archive
Hampshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

DEAN, WEST (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Stockbridge, hundred of Alderbury, Salisbury and Amesbury, and S. divisions of Wiltshire, 7 miles (E. by S.) from Salisbury. There is also a chapel of ease at East Grimstead, lying partly in the county of Hampshire.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

West Dean, Wiltshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[3]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
NIM = Nimrod Research - (£). Results delivered by email.[5]
West Dean, Wiltshire Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1875-1886


FMP 1500s-1800s
IGI 1813-1885 1754-1812, 1814-1837
NIM 1599-1837
1599-1837
1599-1839

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464192.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hampshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848)] pp. 15-23. Date accessed: 21 October 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 10 January 2014.
  3. 'Search more than 99,000 new Wiltshire parish baptism records,' FindMyPast, accessed 5 June 2014. Coverage year range is not clearly identified.
  4. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Wiltshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 14 January 2014.
  5. 'Wiltshire Parish Explorer,' Nimrod Research, accessed 8 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 July 2014, at 16:59.
  • This page has been accessed 1,959 times.