West Dean All Saints, East SussexEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to West Dean All Saints,East Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|West Dean All Saints, East Sussex|
|Poor Law Union||Eastbourne PLU|
|Parish registers: 1631|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1607|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes|
|Location of Archive|
|Sussex Record Office|
DEAN, EAST, a parish, in the union of West Hampnett, hundred of Westbourn and Singleton, rape of Chichester, W. division of Sussex, eight miles South by East. The parish is bounded on the south by the English Channel. The church is in the decorated English style, with an embattled tower surmounted by a low spire: close to the churchyard is the parsonage, an ancient house with a curious winding staircase of stone. At Charlston House was once a chapel.
West Dean All Saints is an Ancient Parish in East Sussex; the history of the church is available West Dean All Saints
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
For civil registration history see Eastbourne registration district
Certificates may be obtained from
East Sussex The Register Office Town Hall Grove Road
Eastbourne BN21 4UG Phone 01323 464780 Fax01323 431386 email email@example.com
West Dean All Saints, East Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|West Dean All Saints, East Sussex Online Parish Records|
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464163.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- ↑ Samuel A. LewisA Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 15-23. Adapted 9 May 2013fckLRfckLR
- ↑ 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 30 December 2013.
- ↑ Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 3 January 2014.
- This page was last modified on 19 May 2015, at 21:44.
- This page has been accessed 2,163 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News