West Drayton, MiddlesexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

EnglandGotoarrow.png Middlesex Gotoarrow.pngMiddlesex Parishes

Guide to West Drayton, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

West Drayton, Middlesex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Elthorne
County Middlesex
Poor Law Union Uxbridge PLU
Registration District Uxbridge
Records begin
Parish registers: 1568
Bishop's Transcripts: 1813
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not created until 1858
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of St Paul's Cathedral
Location of Archive
Middlesex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

DRAYTON, WEST St. Martin [1568], a parish, in the union of Uxbridge, hundred of Elthorne, County of Middlesex, 3¼ miles (northeast of Colnbrook.[1]

Additional information:

The Victoria County History of West Drayton (1962) is available online pp. 13-33. It includes a history of land ownership, manors, estates, mills, economic and social history, local government, church, Roman Catholicism and old Catholics, Protestant nonconformity, schools, and charities.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online West Drayton Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1568
1568
1568
Images
1568-1812 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[3]
1813-1906 Ancestry[4] 1755-1921 Ancestry[5] 1813-1927 Ancestry[6]
Indexes 1568-1812 BritishOrigins[7] 1570-1837 findmypast[8] 1591-1866 BritishOrigins[9]
1813-1847 FamilySearch[10] 1570-1813 TheGenealogist[11]
Unknown findmypast[12] 1570-1813 FamilyRelatives[13]
1570-1813 Joiner[14]
    1790-1812 Ancestry[15]    
1813-1837 FamilySearch[16]
Post-1813 BritishOrigins[17]
1813-1837 BritishOrigins[18]

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census and Inhabitants Lists

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438773.

1666 Hearth Tax

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Manorial Records

Records survive West Drayton Manor (1222-1937) in West Drayton Parish. The Manorial Documents Register will help you locate these records.

Poor Law Unions

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

West Drayton on GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A, A Topographical Dictionary of England, 1848. Adapted. Date accessed: 23 January 2014.
  2. URL: A History of the County of Middlesex: Volume 3: Shepperton, Staines, Stanwell, Sunbury, Teddington, Heston and Isleworth, Twickenham, Cowley, Cranford, West Drayton, Greenford, Hanwell, Harefield and Harlington, (1962). Adapted. Date accessed: 23 January 2014.
  3. London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Martin, West Drayton in Hillingdon Borough. Marriages from 1754 to 1812 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
  4. London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as West Drayton in Hillingdon Borough. Partially indexed.
  5. London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as West Drayton in Hillingdon Borough. Partially indexed.
  6. London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as West Drayton in Hillingdon Borough. Partially indexed.
  7. 'About Middlesex Baptisms Index 1538-1751,' British Origins, accessed 16 March 2012.
  8. 'West Middlesex Marriage Index Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 8 March 2012.
  9. 'Greater London Burials: Middlesex and City of London Burials: Parishes, Counts and References,' British Origins (£), accessed 4 April 2013.
  10. Batch C042851, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (N-Z), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 10 March 2012. Indexes parish register transcripts.
  11. 'Middlesex Parish Record Transcripts,' The Genealogist, accessed 10 March 2012.
  12. 'Middlesex baptism records coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 29 September 2012.
  13. 'Middlesex Parish registers collection 1538 on Familyrelatives.com,' Family Relatives, accessed 12 March 2012. Derived from Phillimore Marriage Indexes.
  14. 'Search Marriage Records in Middlesex,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 20 March 2012.
  15. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
  16. Batch M042851, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (N-Z), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 10 March 2012. Indexes parish register transcripts.
  17. 'Webb's London Marriages - Marriages, periods and parishes/churches,' British Origins, accessed 12 March 2012.
  18. 'Surrey Marriage Index - Middlesex parishes in the index,' British Origins, accessed 17 September 2012.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:56.
  • This page has been accessed 2,564 times.