West Farleigh, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Kent   Gotoarrow.png  Kent Parishes

Guide to West Farleigh, Kent family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


West Farleigh, Kent
West Farleigh All Saints Kent.jpg
West Farleigh All Saints Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Twyford
County Kent
Poor Law Union Maidstone PLU
Registration District Maidstone
Records begin
Parish registers: 1539
Bishop's Transcripts: 1716
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Malling
Diocese Pre-1845 - Rochester; Post-1844 - Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1845 - Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Rochester; Post-1844 - Prerogative Court of the Archbishop of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

FARLEIGH, WEST (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Maidstone, hundred of Twyford, lathe of Aylesford, W. division of Kent, 3¼ miles (W. S. W.) from Maidstone. [1]


West Farleigh is a village and civil parish in the Maidstone district of Kent. West Farleigh Wikipedia

West Farleigh All Saints is an Ancient Parish in the Diocese of Rochester; a map of the parish boundary may be found at church near you The parish is united in the benefice of Coxheath, East Farleigh, Hunton, Linton and West Farleigh.

The parish church of All Saints has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

See Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 5 (1798), pp. 136-145 at British History Online and Kent Churches website

see West Farleigh North West Kent Family History Society and West Farleigh All Saints


Resources

Civil Registration

See Maidstone Registration District

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

West Farleigh, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[4]
FREG = FreeREG - free[5]
FREL = FamilyRelatives - (£)[6]
FS BTs = England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free[7]
FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers (FamilySearch) - free[8]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[9]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[10]
West Farleigh, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI
1835-1857

BOYD
1651-1725

FMP
1813-1857

FREG
1558-1812

FREL
1558-1812

FS BTs 1716-1899 1716-1899 1716-1899
FS PRs 1539-1876 1539-1835; 1754-1876 (banns) 1539-1905
IGI 1539-1875 1559-1857
PALL
1790-1812

Kent Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Land Tax

Images for West Farleigh are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1831

Census records

Census returns for West Farleigh 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
[1] to locate local Family History Centres in UK
[2] to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901




Poor Law Unions

Maidstone Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 213-216. Date accessed: 29 July 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 7 November 2013.
  3. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. 'Coverage of Kent parish marriage records', Find My Past, accessed 6 November 2013.
  5. 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.
  6. 'Kent Parish registers collection 1538 on Familyrelatives.com,' Family Relatives, accessed 12 March 2012. Derived from Phillimore Marriage Indexes.
  7. 'England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 11 November 2013.
  8. 'England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 13 November 2013.
  9. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Kent, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 13 November 2013.
  10. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 June 2014, at 18:28.
  • This page has been accessed 2,850 times.