West Grinstead, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Sussex Gotoarrow.png  Sussex Parishes

West Grinstead, Sussex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred West Grinstead
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Horsham PLU
Registration District Horsham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1591
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Storrington
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

GRINSTED, WEST (St. George), a parish, in the union of Horsham, hundred of West Grinsted, rape of Bramber, West division of Sussex,and seven miles South from Horsham. There is a Roman Catholic chapel, endowed by the Caryll family. The church is a very neat edifice, containing some Norman details, of which the south doorway is a rich specimen, and consisting of two aisles, with a low tower surmounted by a shingled spire; it contains the sepulchral chapel of the family of Burrell, in which are several highly interesting monuments. There is a Roman Catholic chapel, endowed by the Caryll family.[1]

West Grinstead St George is an Ancient Parish in the Horsham District of West Sussex.

The iron mission church of Partridge Green was formed from this parish and in 1890 became Partridge Green, St Michael, Sussex from part of this parish.

West Grinstead describes the history of the church.

The Parish Church of St George West Grinstead has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed Building

West Grinstead Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)

See also West Grinstead Wikipedia and list of places of worship in Horsham district Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 this parish was in the Horsham registration district
Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex Centralised Certificates Office
Registration Service
West Sussex Record Office
County Hall
Chichester
PO19 1RN
Phone: 01243 642122

Church records

West Grinstead, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[2]
West Grinstead, Sussex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PRTS 1559-1901
1558-1902
1559-1904

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Grinstead, West

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474673.

Poor Law Unions

Horsham Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 344-347. Adapted 9 May 2013.
  2. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 22 December 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 23:13.
  • This page has been accessed 1,028 times.