West Hoathly, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Sussex Gotoarrow.png Sussex Parishes

Guide to West Hoathly, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

West Hoathly, Sussex
St Margaret of Antioch West Hoathly Sussex.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Buttinghill
County Sussex
Poor Law Union East Grinstead PLU
Registration District East Grinstead
Records begin
Parish registers: 1645
Bishop's Transcripts: 1606
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery South Malling
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Archbishop of Canterbury for the Exempt Deanery of South Malling
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

HOATHLY, WEST, a parish, in the union of East Grinsted, hundred of Buttinghill, rape of Lewes, E. division of Sussex, 5 miles (S. W. by S.) from East Grinsted. The church is partly in the early and partly in the decorated English style, with a tower surmounted by a spire. At Bunch Grove is a small licensed place of worship for the Established Church. There is a meeting-house for dissenters.[1]

West Hoathly is an Ancient Parish which included Burleigh Arches Manor, Old House and White Hart, The Rocks, New Combes and Old Combes, Duckells and Stoneland, Gravety, Clarkes Manor, Selsfield, and South Malling-Lindfield Manor.

The ecclesiastical parish of Highbrook, Sussex was formed from this parish.

A history of the Church West Hoathly St Margaret

The Parish church of St Margaret of Antioch has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

West Hoathly Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Other places of worship include

Countess of Huntingdon's Chapel Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

St Dunstan (Roman Catholic) Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

See also West Hoathly Wikipedia and list of places of worship in Mid Sussex Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

For civil registration history see East Grinstead registration district
Certificates may be obtained from
East Sussex The Register Office
Town Hall
Grove Road
Eastbourne
BN21 4UG Phone01323 464780 Fax 01323 431386 email eastbourne.registrar@eastsussex.gov.uk

Church records

West Hoathly, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[3]
SOPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free[4]
West Hoathly, Sussex Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI 1606-1640, 1645-1876 1606-1875
PRTS 1606-1901
1606-1900
1606-1900
SOPC Undefined


Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Hoathly, West

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464160.

Poor Law Unions

East Grinstead Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SSX/WestHoathly/

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 521-524. Adapted 17 May 2013.
  2. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 3 January 2014.
  3. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 22 December 2013.
  4. Sussex Online Parish Clerks, accessed 7 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 19:25.
  • This page has been accessed 1,504 times.