West Holloway St Luke, MiddlesexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Parishes

Guide to West Holloway St Luke, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

West Holloway St Luke, Middlesex. ISLINGTON: a metropolitan suburb, a parish, and a district in Middlesex. The suburb stands on the underground rivers Fleet and Walbrook, on the New river, on the Regent's canal, and on the North London and Great Northern railways, 2 miles NNW of St. Pauls; The parish is ecclesiastically divided into twenty-two charges with defined limits, and six with undefined limits. One of the twenty-two defined is St. Luke, West Holloway.[1]

Additional information:

St Luke West Holloway was one of about 10 "new churches" to be built within the decade of the 1850's. It was built in the year 1855 and lay within the civil parish boundaries of St Mary Islington.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438780.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

West Holloway in Islington on GENUKI

References

  1. Wilson. John M., Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales: Descriptive Gazetteer Entry for ISLINGTON, (1870-72). Adapted. Date accessed: 23 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 14 November 2014, at 16:51.
  • This page has been accessed 886 times.