West Kirby, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png West Kirby

Guide to West Kirby, Cheshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
St Bridget West Kirby.jpg

Contents

Parish History

KIRBY (West), is a village, a township, and a parish in Wirral district, Cheshire. The village stands on the estuary of the Dee, 1¾ mile S by W of Hoylake railway station, and 7½ W by S of Birkenhead; and has a post office under Birkenhead. The parish contains also the townships of Hoose, Great Meolse, Little Meolse, Grange, Newton-cum-Larton, Frankby, Caldy, and nearly allGreasby. The church is ancient; had, prior to 1780, nave, aisles, and chancel.[1]

St. Bridget  Church is an ancient church and it is difficult to be sure of the age of the present building which is believed to have stood on the site for over 1,000 years. Some masonry, heavily restored, remains to chancel, vestry east bay and north aisle and dates from the 1300's. West tower 1492-1530 . Restoration, south aisle and vestry west bay, 1869-70.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241254.

Church records

West Kirby St Bridget parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
CPR = Cheshire Parish Register Project - free[3]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[4]
West Kirby St Bridget Parish (1561) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1724-1729, 1752, 1758-1811, 1839-1859
1724-1729, 1823-1906

CPR 1565-1871
1564-1871
1566-1871
FS PR's 1565-1909
  NONE
1564-1934
  NONE
1566-1886
  NONE
FS BT'S 1600-1897
  NONE
1600-1837
  NONE
1600-1897
  NONE
JOIN
1562-1837

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Cheshire Parish Register project have online search transcripts for the parish West Kirby, St. Bridget (C of E), Church Road. An ancient parish church, originally serving the townships of Caldy, Frankby, Grange, Greasby (part), Great Meols, Hoose, Little Meols, Newton cum Larton and West Kirby. Registers of Baptisms 1561–1964, Marriages 1561–1968 and Burials 1561–1970 have been deposited at the Cheshire Record Office

Parish registers for West Kirby, Cheshire, 1561-1964  Church of England. Parish Church of West Kirby (Cheshire)
Microreproduction of originals at the Cheshire Record Office in Chester, England. Cheshire Record Office call no.: P46/1/1-4, P46/2/1-3, P46/3/1-5, P46/2651/1-2, P46/5, P46/7.

Parish registers Content FHL Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1561-1619, 1692-1729. Baptisms and burials, 1759-1812. Baptisms, 1813-1964 . Marriages, 1754-1861. BRITISH 2106685 Items 2 - 11
Marriages, Aug 1861-1959. Burials, 1813-1886. Marriage licenses, 1871, 1933-1949. BRITISH 2106690 Items 1 - 7

Bishop's transcripts for West Kirby, 1581-1897 Microfilm of original records in the Cheshire Record Office, Chester, England. Records are not in strict chronological order. Some intermittent years are missing. Cheshire Record Office no.: ECC/213

Bishop's transcripts content FHL Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1581, 1603-1604, 1610, 1615, 1617-1631, 1636, 1666-1667, 1669, 1671-1686, 1690-1691, 1698-1704, 1706-1739, 1743-1833, 1835-1837. Baptisms, burials, 1838, 1892-1894, 1896-1897 BRITISH 1736166 Item 2

Banns, draft registers and churchwarden accounts, 1692-1912 Microfilm copy of original record in the Cheshire Record Office, Chester, England.Draft registers include indexes.Cheshire Record Office no.: P46/4/1-2, P46/6/1-6, P46/11/1-2.

Other Content FHL Film
Banns 1823-1912. Draft registers, baptisms 1752-1787. BRITISH 1656723 Items 8-10
Baptisms, burials, marriages 1724-1728.  Baptisms and burials 1788-1811, 1839-1859. Churchwarden accounts 1754-1886. BRITISH 1656757 Items 1-7

  West Kirby- St Bridget
Baptisms-1561-1861- MFPR 519
Burials-1561-1812- MFPR 519
Burials-1813-1886- MFPR 520A
Marriages-1561-1729- MFPR 519
Marriages-1754-1905- MFPR 520

For original registers of above please enquire at Lancashire Record Office.

The Manchester Room and Greater Manchester County Record Office
Email: archiveslocalstudies@manchester.gov.uk

The Manchester Room@City Library (Local Studies)

St. Andrew (C of E), Meols Drive. Founded 1891 as a chapel to St Bridget, becoming a parish church in 1920. Registers of Baptisms from 1915 and Marriages from 1914 are held at the church.

Non-Conformist Churches

  • West Kirby, St. Agnes, Darmands Green (Roman Catholic). Founded 1897
  • West Kirby, Methodist Chapel (Primitive), Eaton Road. Built in 1880, closed in 1963.
  • West Kirby, Presbyterian Church, Meols Drive. Founded 1890.
  • West Kirby, Presbyterian Church (Welsh), Grange Road. Founded 1892.
  • West Kirby, Unitarian (Free) Chapel. Built in 1910 in Grange Road, rebuilt in 1928 in Brookfield Gardens. Registers of marriages 1938–1950 and baptisms 1950–1953 are at the Cheshire Record Office.

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  • Wirral (1837–94)

Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date Accessed: 16 April 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 14 October 2013.
  3. 'CPR Project Progress (As on 17 January 2014),' Cheshire Parish Register Project, accessed 1 February 2014.
  4. Cheshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 16 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:48.
  • This page has been accessed 1,943 times.