West Langdon, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Kent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to West Langdon, Kent family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

West Langdon, Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bewsborough
County Kent
Poor Law Union Dover PLU
Registration District Dover
Records begin
Parish registers: 1593
Bishop's Transcripts: 1640
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Sandwich
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

LANGDON, WEST (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Dovor, hundred of Bewsborough, lathe of St. Augustine, E. division of Kent, 3½ miles (N.) from Dovor. [1]


West Langdon is a village and civil parish in the Dover District of Kent, see West Langdon Wikipedia.

West Langdon St Mary the Virgin is an Ancient Parish in the Diocese of Canterbury and is part of the group including East Langdon , Kent St Margaret at Cliffe, Kent and West Cliffe, Kent

See Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 9 (1800), pp. 401-405 at British History Online for a history of the West Langdon Abbey , see West Langdon Abbey Wikipedia and parish and Kent Churches website for the present church which dates from rebuilding in 1869.

Langdon Abbey has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building

Resources

Civil Registration

See Dover Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

West Langdon, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[3][4][5]
West Langdon, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1660-1756

FMP 1650-1805 1650-1805 1722-1749 1722-1749 1648-1811 1648-1811

Kent Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306862.

[1] 

Poor Law Unions

Dover Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Canterbury Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent


Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 20-23. Date accessed: 26 August 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Canterbury baptism records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 November 2013.
  4. 'Canterbury marriage records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
  5. 'Canterbury burial records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 June 2014, at 19:35.
  • This page has been accessed 877 times.