West Leake, NottinghamshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

Contents

Parish History

West Leake, Nottinghamshire
St Helena West Leake Nottinghamshire.jpg
St Helena West Leake Nottinghamshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Rushcliffe
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union Loughborough PLU
Registration District Loughborough
Records begin
Parish registers: 1616
Bishop's Transcripts: 1622
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bingham
Diocese Lincoln
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office


LEAKE (WEST), is a parish, with a village, in the district of Loughborough, and county of Nottingham; on an affluent of the river Soar, 2 miles SE of Kegworth railway station, and 5½ N by W of Loughborough. The post town is, Loughborough.[1]

Additional information:

West Leake St Helena is an Ancient Parish.

Church history West Leake St Helena

The church of St Helena has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building

The modern parish is united with

Costock, Nottinghamshire St Giles

East Leake, Nottinghamshire St Mary

Rempstone, Nottinghamshire All Saints

Stanford on Soar, Nottinghamshire St John the Baptist.

See also West Leake Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

West Leake, Nottinghamshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
WEST LEAKE PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL

1617-1812


Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives West Leake St Helena Baptisms 1606-1901 Marriages 1617-1903 Burials 1617-1897 Bishop's Transcripts 1622-1843
Nottinghamshire County Council
County Hall
West Bridgford
Nottingham
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Leake, West

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438908.

See Nottinghamshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Loughborough Poor Law Union, Leicestershire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

West Leake in GENUKI: www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/NTT/WestLeake/index.html

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (1870-72). Adapted. Date accessed: 10 December 2013.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 December 2014, at 19:50.
  • This page has been accessed 1,114 times.