West Malling, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  KentEngland  Gotoarrow.png  Kent Parishes

Guide to West Malling, Kent family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


West Malling, Kent
West Malling St Mary Kent.jpg
West Malling St Mary Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Larkfield
County Kent
Poor Law Union Malling PLU
Registration District Malling
Records begin
Parish registers: 1698
Bishop's Transcripts: 1716
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Malling
Diocese Pre-1845 - Rochester; Post-1844 - Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1845 - Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Rochester; Post-1844 - Prerogative Court of the Archbishop of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

MALLING, WEST, or Town-Malling (St. Mary), a parish, the head of a union, and formerly a markettown, in the hundred of Larkfield, lathe of Aylesford, W. division of Kent, 5¾ miles (W. N. W.) from Maidstone, and 29 (S. E. by E.) from London. Here is a place of worship for Baptists. [1]


West Malling (or in some historical sources Town Malling) is a village and civil parish in the Tonbridge and Malling District of Kent,see West Malling Wikipedia

West Malling St Mary is an Ancient Parish in the Diocese of Rochester; other churches in West Malling include St Thomas More (Roman Catholic) and the Swan Street Baptist Chapel. The Parish Church boundary map may be found at A church near you

The parish church of St Mary the Virgin has been designated as a grade II* listed building British Listed Building and is part of a group of listed monuments surrounding the nave of the church.

See Kent Archaeological Society and Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 4 (1798), pp. 518-533 at British History Online and Kent Churches website

see West Malling North West Kent Family History Society and West Malling St Mary Swan Street Baptist Chapel

West Malling Free Church Swan Street West Malling has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building

Resources

Civil Registration

This parish was from 1837 in the Malling registration district See Maidstone Registration District


Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP


Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

West Malling, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FS BTs = England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers (FamilySearch) - free[4]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[5]
KOPC = Kent Online Parish Clerks - free[6]
West Malling, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1818-1852 (gaps)


FS BTs 1716-1904 1716-1904 1716-1904
FS PRs 1698-1817 1698-1817; 1754-1823 (banns) 1698-1817
IGI 1698-1817 1700-1814
KOPC 1813-1910


Land Tax

Images for West Malling are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1831

Census records

Census Returns for West Malling 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
[1] to locate local Family History Centres in UK
[2] to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

Malling Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent


Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 216-221. Date accessed: 15 April 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 7 November 2013.
  3. 'England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 11 November 2013.
  4. 'England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 13 November 2013.
  5. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Kent, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 13 November 2013.
  6. Kent Online Parish Clerks, accessed 20 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 June 2014, at 14:02.
  • This page has been accessed 1,881 times.