West Marsh, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Kent  Gotoarrow.png  Kent Parishes

Guide to West Marsh, Kent family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

West Marsh, Kent
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wingham
County Kent
Poor Law Union Eastry PLU
Registration District Eastry
Records begin
Parish registers: Not Known
Bishop's Transcripts: Not Known
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bridge
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Rochester
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Westmarsh is a village and civil parish in the Dover district of Kent Westmarsh Wikipedia

Westmarsh was an ecclesiastical parish formed in 1849 from Ash (near Sandwich), Kent St Nicholas Ancient Parish.

The parish of Ash near near Sandwich is the largest parish in the county of Kent and the need for smaller chapels lead to the creation of Westmarsh Holy Trinity in 1849.

Holy Trinity Church was restored in1895 and in 1958 with the introduction of electricity however the need for the smaller churches lessened and in 1967 the parish was reunited with St Nicholas Ash to form the modern parish of Ash with Westmarsh; a map of the parish boundary may be found at A church near you. The church was sold for conversion to private residential dwelling and is known as Trinity House.

MARSH, WEST, eccl. dist., Ash next Sandwich par., Kent, pop. 417. [1]


See Kent Churches website


Resources

Civil Registration

Eastry Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

West Marsh, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2][3]
West Marsh, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1861-1911 1861-1911 1861-1927 1861-1927

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306874.

 See Kent Census



Poor Law Unions

Eastry Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. 1887, John Bartholomew's Gazetteer of the British Isles. Date accessed: 29 August 2013.
  2. 'Canterbury baptism records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 November 2013.
  3. 'Canterbury marriage records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 June 2014, at 14:08.
  • This page has been accessed 1,443 times.