West Retford, NottinghamshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

Contents

Parish History

West Retford, Nottinghamshire
St Michael's church, West Retford.JPG
St Michael's church, West Retford.JPG
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bassetlaw
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union East Retford PLU
Registration District East Retford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1754
Bishop's Transcripts: 1622
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Retford
Diocese Lincoln
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office

RETFORD, WEST (St. Michael), a parish, in the union of East Retford, Hatfield division of the wapentake of Bassetlaw, N. division of the county of Nottingham, ¼ of a mile (W.) from East Retford. The parish is separated from East Retford by the river Idle, and intersected by the Chesterfield canal.[1]

Additional information:

West Retford St Michael the Archangel is an Ancient Parish in the Market Town of Retford in the Bassetlaw district of Nottinghamshire.

The Parish Church of St Michael the Archangel has been designated a grade B listed building British listed building

See also Retford Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 this parish was within East Retford registration district
Certificates may be obtained for post 1837 events :
Bassetlaw
The Register Office
County Council Offices
Chancery Lane
Retford
DN22 6DG
Phone:01777 708631
Fax:01777 860667
Email:bassetlawro.cc@nottscc.gov.uk

Church records

West Retford St Michael the Archangel

Nottinghamshire Archives have deposited registers Baptisms 1772-1971 Marriages 1754-1953 Burials 1772-1922 and Bishop's Transcripts 1622-1841(these are available on the International Genealogical Index)

Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records.

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Retford

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438901.
Nottinghamshire Census

1811 Census - West Retford. Census of West Retford taken on 10 March 1811, showing given name, and surname head of household, and number of males, and females in each household,  This was done for taking an account of the population of Great Britian. Taken from Nottinghamshire Archives Ref PR 8024, transcription in Nottinghamshire Family History Soc. Magazine, vol. 95, page 14-15, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n

West Retford 1794 Census. This census was taken 17 March 1794, fdorename, surname, and number of males and females in hoursehold.  Original held at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref PR 8024, transcription in Nottinghamshire Family History Soc. Magazine vol. 105, page 22-23, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n

Poor Law Unions

East Retford Poor Law Union,Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 10 December 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 August 2014, at 15:50.
  • This page has been accessed 852 times.