West Rudham, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Guide to West Rudham, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

West Rudham, Norfolk
West Rudham St Peter contributor Evelyn Simack.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Gallow
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Docking PLU
Registration District Docking
Records begin
Parish registers: 1565
Bishop's Transcripts: 1691
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Burnham
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

RUDHAM, WEST (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Docking, hundred of Gallow, W. division of Norfolk, 5 miles (N. N. W.) from Rougham. [1]
West Rudham St Peter is an Ancient parish in the Diocese of Norwich.

West Rudham is a civil parish in the English county of Norfolk. The village straddles the A148 King's Lynn to Cromer road. For the purposes of local government, it falls within the district of King's Lynn and West Norfolk.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

West Rudham, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[6]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[7]
NTA = Norfolk Transcription Archive - free[8]
West Rudham, Norfolk Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1565-1837

FREG 1565-1900
1565-1836
1565-1847
FS ATs 1725-1811 1725-1811 1725-1811
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
FS PRs Undefined 1565-1901 Undefined 1565-1902 Undefined 1565-1904
JOIN
1565-1836

NTA 1729-1867
1730-1836
1729-1847

Norfolk Record Office reference PD 414

Parish registers for West Rudham Microfilm copies of original records in the Norfolk Record Office, Central Library, Norwich, Norfolk, England.

Item 1 Baptisms, marriages, burials 1565-1653 Item 2 Baptisms, marriages, burials 1654-1729 Item 3 Baptisms 1729-1786 Marriages 1730-1753 Burials 1729-1783 Item 4 Baptisms 1786-1812 Burials 1783-1812 Item 5 Baptisms 1813-1868 Item 6 Baptisms 1868-1901 Item 7 Marriages and banns 1756-1812 Item 8 Marriages 1813-1836 Item 9 Marriages 1837-1901 FHL BRITISH Film 1596654 Items 1-9
Item 10 Burials 1813-1904 Item 11 Banns 1824-1885 Item 12 Banns 1885-1902 FHL BRITISH Film 1596654 Items 10 - 12
Archdeacons transcripts, 1725-1811 Microfilm copies of original records in the Norfolk Record Office, Central Library, Norwich, Norfolk, England.

Baptisms, burials and marriages 1725-1811 FHL BRITISH Film 1526790 Item 9

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438859.


Poor Law Unions

Docking Poor Law Union, Norfolk


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 707-711. Date accessed: 05 August 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 27 February 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  5. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  6. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
  7. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 11 February 2014.
  8. Norfolk Transcription Archive, accessed 14 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 November 2014, at 17:43.
  • This page has been accessed 1,436 times.