West Tarring, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  SussexGotoarrow.png  Sussex Parishes

West Tarring, Sussex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Tarring
County Sussex
Poor Law Union East Preston PLU
Registration District Worthing
Records begin
Parish registers: 1540; Separate registers exist for Durrington beginning 1626 and for Heene beginning 1594
Bishop's Transcripts: 1610; Separate records exist for Durrington beginning 1683 and for Heene beginning 1610
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Tarring
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Archbishop of Canterbury for the Exempt Deaneries of Pagham and Tarring
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

TARRING, WEST, (St. Andrew,) a parish, in the hundred of Tarring, rape of Bramber, West division of Sussex, one and a half mile North West from Worthing. The church is in the early English style, with later additions, and consists of a nave, aisles, and chancel, with a lofty tower surmounted by a handsome octagonal spire. The ancient parsonage-house was formerly of much greater size, and is thought to have been a manor-house or palace occasionally inhabited by Thomas a Becket, who is said to have brought from Italy the fig-tree from which the whole parish has been abundantly stocked.[1]

West Tarring is a neighborhood in the borough of Worthing West Sussex.

West Tarring St Andrew is an Ancient Parish in West Sussex. Other places in the parish include: Heene, Salvington, Durrington, West Worthing, and Tarring.

A history of the church West Tarring St Andrew

The church of St Andrew in Church Road Worthing has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building
West Tarring Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)

St Peter High Salvington was formed from part of this parish see Durrington Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)

St Symphorian Durrington was formed from this parish Durrington Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)

St Michael (Roman Catholic) Durrington List of demolished worship places in West Sussex

See also:

West Tarring Wikipedia and A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 300-303. here

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 this parish was in the Worthing registration district
which was abolished in 1870 and recreated in 1935
Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex Centralised Certificates Office Registration Service West Sussex Record Office County Hall Chichester PO19 1RN Phone: 01243 642122

Church records

West Tarring, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[3]
SOPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free[4]
West Tarring, Sussex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PRTS 1540-1569, 1573-1901
1560-1900
1540-1569, 1574-1901
SOPC Undefined
Undefined

West Tarring St Andrew

West Sussex Record Office has deposited parish Registers Bap 1540-1963 Marr 1559-1962 Bur 1540-1958

Bishop's Transcripts 1610-1897



Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Tarring, West

Durrington registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Durrington Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI 1610-1880 1627-1639, 1676-1678, 1701-1801
PRTS 1627-1752, 1805-1902
1627-1749
1627-1752, 1805-1908

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474673.



Poor Law Unions

East Preston Poor Law Union, Sussex

Sutton (East Preston) Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 300-303. Adapted 16 May 2013
  2. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 3 January 2014.
  3. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 22 December 2013.
  4. Sussex Online Parish Clerks, accessed 7 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 23:13.
  • This page has been accessed 1,882 times.