West Thorney, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  SussexGotoarrow.png  Sussex Parishes

West Thorney, Sussex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bosham
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Westbourne PLU
Registration District Westbourne
Records begin
Parish registers: 1570
Bishop's Transcripts: 1592
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Boxgrove
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

THORNEY, WEST, a parish, in the union of West Bourne, hundred of Bosham, rape of Chichester, West division of Sussex, 7½ miles West by South from Chichester. This place, also called Thorney Island, is situated nearly in the center of the great estuary termed Chichester harbour, and communicates with the small port of Emsworth, on the main land, by a causeway passable at low water for horses and carriages. The church is an ancient edifice, chiefly in the early English style, with a fine Norman tower at the west end; the chancel is separated from the nave by a screen and rood-loft. The interior was wholly restored in 1839, chiefly at the expense of the Rev. C. P. Lyne, rector. On the exterior of the north wall are three large circular arches, now stopped up, evidently part of an aisle or chantry chapel, supposed to have belonged to a religious house near the church, the remains of which are now incorporated in a farmhouse.[1]

West Thorney St Nicholas is an Ancient Parish in on Thorney Island, the southern peninsula of land in Chichester Harbour West Sussex.

The church has been designated a grade I listed building British listed building

history and images

West Thorney Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC) and St Nicholas includes batches in the International Genealogical Index.

West Thorney Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

West Thorney, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[4]
SOPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free[5]
West Thorney, Sussex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1880-1890


IGI 1570-1890 1571-1624, 1639-1792, 1804-1876
PRTS 1570-1901
1571-1897
1571-1901
SOPC Undefined


West Thorney St Nicholas

West Sussex Record Office has deposited parish Registers Bap 1570-1985 Marr 1570-1999 Bur 1570-1986

Bishop's Transcripts 1592-1885

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Thorney, West

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474674.

See Sussex Census

Poor Law Unions

Westbourne Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 331-335. Adapted 16 May 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 30 December 2013.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 January 2014.
  4. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 22 December 2013.
  5. Sussex Online Parish Clerks, accessed 7 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 23:13.
  • This page has been accessed 754 times.