West Wickham, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Kent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to West Wickham, Kent family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


West Wickham, Kent
West Wickham St John the Baptist Kent.jpg
West Wickham St John the Baptist Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ruxley
County Kent
Poor Law Union Bromley PLU
Registration District Bromley
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1720
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Dartford
Diocese Pre-1845 - Rochester; Post-1844 - Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1845 - Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Rochester; Post-1844 - Prerogative Court of the Archbishop of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

West Wickham St John the Baptist is an Ancient Parish.

The church at West Wickham was mentioned in the Domesday survey and the present church was built on the site of that original in the 15th century.

The church of St John the Baptist Layhams Road West Wickham has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building

See Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 2 (1797), pp. 29-37. Date accessed: 2 December 2013.

at British History Online and Kent Churches website

West Wickham developed from the village prior to the 1882 arrival of the railway into a twentieth century expanding suburb.

The 1963 London Government Act meant that from 1965 West Wickham was absorbed into the London Borough of Bromley.West Wickham Wikipedia

see West Wickham North West Kent Family History Society and West Wickham St John the Baptist

The London Borough of Bromley Archives reference 601/1 contains a valuable history of Bromley, Beckenham and Penge deposited as part Mother Mary Baptist (formerly Bessie Taylor) of Coloma College, West Wickham, for a London University Ph.D. thesis (1967) entitled Bromley, Beckenham, and Penge, Kent since 1750

The Heydon family history is referred to in The London Borough of Bromley Archives reference 601/2 16 chapter "the Hey-day of the Heydons of Baconsthorpe, Norfolk, and West Wickham, Kent which forms part of the papers of Sister Mary Gregory (Cater) (formerly Barbara Batten) deposited at Bromley Library and Archive.

Resources

Civil Registration

See Bromley Registration district

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

West Wickham, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[1]
FS BTs = England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free[2]
West Wickham, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1813-1848
1813-1843

FS BTs 1720-1849 1720-1849 1720-1849

Deposited Parish Registers for this parish are held
St John the Baptist - Baptisms 1538-1903, Marriages 1538-1900, Burials 1538-1871
Surrey History Centre- 130 Goldsworth Road, Woking, Surrey GU21 6ND
Tel: 01483 518737 Fax: 01483 518738 Email: shs@surreycc.gov.uk
www.surreycc.gov.uk/surreyhistorycentre
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Wickham, West


Census records

Census returns for West Wickham 1841-1841

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
[1] to locate local Family History Centres in UK
[2] to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

Bromley Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

WICKHAM, WEST (St. John the Baptist), a parish, in the union of Bromley, hundred of Ruxley, lathe of Sutton-at-Hone, W. division of Kent, 2¾ miles (S. S. W.) from Bromley. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. [3]


Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Local Family History Centre

Orpington Family History Centre, Kent is within the London Borough of Bromley, located adjacent to Orpington Station and on major bus routes through the borough.

Websites

References

  1. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 7 November 2013.
  2. 'England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 11 November 2013.
  3. Lewis,Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 565-567. Date accessed: 08 May 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 23:14.
  • This page has been accessed 1,743 times.