West Wittering, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  SussexGotoarrow.png  Sussex Parishes

West Wittering, Sussex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Manhood
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Westhampnett PLU
Registration District Westhampnett
Records begin
Parish registers: 1621
Bishop's Transcripts: 1592
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Boxgrove
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

WITTERING, WEST, a parish, in the union of West Hampnett, hundred of Manhood, rape of Chichester, West division of Sussex,seven and a half miles South West from Chichester. The parish is bounded on the south by the English Channel, and on the west by the mouth of Chichester harbour. The church is an ancient edifice combining various periods of English architecture, with a tower on the north side, and contains some specimens of oak carving in the pews, and three stalls. It has also a very fine Norman font of cylindrical form, and a monument of Caen stone, with effigies of William Ernley and family richly sculptured in bas-relief, and carved representations of the Resurrection and the Salutation of the Virgin.[1]



West Wittering is a village and civil parish on the Manhood peninsula in the Chichester district of West Sussex. The neighbouring parish on the county boundary is South Hayling, Hampshire across the mouth of Chichester Harbour.

West Wittering St Peter and St Paul is an Ancient Parish; the history of the church is available at Sussex Parish Churches West Wittering St Peter and St Paul.

The parish church of St Peter and St Paul has been designated a grade I listed building British listed building

Wittering Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC) and St Peter and St Paul

Other places of worship include

Bethesda Methodist Chapel which dates from 1841 West Wittering Methodist Chapel

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

West Wittering, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[3]
SOPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free[4]
West Wittering, Sussex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI 1538-1558, 1583-1879 1538-1558, 1583-1876
PRTS 1621-1905
1621-1902
1621-1902
SOPC Undefined




Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Wittering, West

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464156.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 636-639. Adapted 16 May 2013
  2. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 January 2014.
  3. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 22 December 2013.
  4. Sussex Online Parish Clerks, accessed 7 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 23:13.
  • This page has been accessed 830 times.