West Wycombe, BuckinghamshireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to West Wycombe, Buckinghamshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|West Wycombe, Buckinghamshire|
|Poor Law Union||Wycombe PLU|
|Parish registers: 1663; Separate registers exist for Lane End beginning 1832|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1575; Separate records exist for Lane End beginning 1851|
|Diocese||Pre-1845 - Lincoln; Post-1844 - Oxford|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Buckingham|
|Location of Archive|
|Buckinghamshire Record Office|
WYCOMBE (West), a village, a parish, and a sub-district, in Wycombe district, Bucks. The village stands on the Maidenhead and Thame railway, under a hill side, 2½ miles NW of Wycombe.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
- Primitive Methodist
- Wesleyan Methodist
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241217.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Buckinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
West Wycombe on GENUKI
- This page was last modified on 20 October 2014, at 15:33.
- This page has been accessed 632 times.
Share Your Opinion!
Review redesigns of wiki pages and give your feedbackImprove the Wiki