Westbere, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Kent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to Westbere, Kent family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

All Saints Westbere Kent contributor Nick Smith.jpg

Contents

Parish History

Westbere is a village and civil parish in the Canterbury district of Kent.

Westbere All Saints was an Ancient Parish in the Westbere deanery of the Diocese of Canterbury in the County of Kent; a map of the parish boundary is available at A church near you

The Parish church of All Saints, Church Lane, Westbere has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

See also Kent Archeological Society and Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 9 (1800), pp. 68-74. Date accessed: 2 December 2013. at British History Online  and Kent Churches website

Resources

Civil Registration

See Bridge Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Westbere, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[1][2][3]
Westbere, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1577-1909 1577-1909 1764-1928 (Banns) 1764-1928 (Banns) 1577-1947 1577-1947

Parish registers for Westbere, 1577-1952  Microfilm of original records in possession of Canterbury Cathedral Archives, The Precincts, Canterbury, Kent.
The parish church is known as All Saints'.
Canterbury Cathedral Archives no.: U3/145/1/1-10, D4.

Content
Film
Baptisms, 1577-1814; marriages, 1577-1651, 1656-1778; burials, 1577-1652, 1662-1678. Baptisms, 1706-1814; burials, 1678-1813, 1678-1749. Baptisms, 1813-1933. Marriages (incomplete), 1754-1774. Marriages, 1774-1836; banns, 1774-1813, 1824-1932. Burials, 1813-1947.
FHL BRITISH Film
1836032 Items 1 - 10
Marriages, 1837-1952.
FHL BRITISH Film
2354778 Item 3

Archdeacon's transcripts, 1560-1812; Bishop's transcripts, 1602-1912 Microreproduction of original records housed at the Canterbury Cathedral Archives, Canterbury, Kent.
Some early pages damaged.
The church was named All Saints.
Canterbury Cathedral Archives nos.: DCa/BT/206; DCb/BT1/252; DCb/BT2/319

Content
Film
Archdeacon's transcripts: Baptisms, marriages and burials 1560-1812 (missing: 1561/2, 1562/3, 1564/5, 1565/6, 1569/70, 1580/1, 1594/5, 1598/9, 1603/4, 1604/5 1606/7, 1629/30, 1640/1-1660/1, 1681/2, 1734/5, 1740/1, 1765/6, 1789/90)
FHL BRITISH Film
1752240 Item 5
Bishop's transcripts: Baptisms, marriages and burials 1602-1813 (missing: 1604/5-1610/1, 1613/4, 1621/2, 1627/8 1640/1-1661/2, 1681/2, 1699/1700)
FHL BRITISH Film
1751477 Item 3
Bishop's transcripts contd.: Baptisms 1813-1854, 1856-1868, 1871-1892 1894-1911 Marriages 1813-1836 Burials 1813-1854, 1856-1868, 1871-1892 1894-1900, 1902-1912
FHL BRITISH Film
1835832 Item 2

Land Tax

Images for the Borough of Roushburne are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1831

The images identify the parish of Westbeer, Division of St Augustine as included in this borough Land Tax.

Further images series for Westbere 1780-1832 are also found.

Known Issues

 England Vital Records Index (FamilySearch Historical Records) known issue England Easy collection Indexing Project Batch 100354-3 Incorrect parish names entered also affects Swingfield, Kent  Ripple, Kent,   Ramsgate Holy Trinity, Kent Error caused by incorrect place data entry field for four parishes in items on same film FHL BRITISH Film 1836032.

Census records

Census returns for Westbere 1851-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.

[1] to locate local Family History Centres in UK

[2] to locate outside UK.

Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901


Prior to the 1911 census the household schedule was destroyed and only the enumerator's schedule survives.

The 1911 census of England and Wales was taken on the night of Sunday 2 April 1911 and in addition to households and institutions such as prisons and workhouses, canal boats merchant hips and naval vessels it attempted to include homeless persons. The schedule was completed by an individual and for the first time both this record and the enumerator's schedule were preserved. Two forms of boycott of the census by women are possible due to frustration at government failure to grant women the universal right to vote in parliamentary and local elections. The schedule either records a protest by failure to complete the form in respect of the women in the household or women are absent due to organisation of groups of women staying away from home for the whole night. Research estimates that several thousand women are not found by census search. Find my Past 1911 census search

Poor Law Unions

Blean Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Canterbury Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

WESTBEER (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Blean, hundred of Bleangate, lathe of St. Augustine, E. division of Kent, 3½ miles (N..E. by E.) from Canterbury. [4]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. 'Canterbury baptism records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 November 2013.
  2. 'Canterbury banns coverage', Find My Past, accessed 11 November 2013.
  3. 'Canterbury burial records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
  4. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 513-517. fckLRfckLR Date accessed: 22 May 2013

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 April 2014, at 04:18.
  • This page has been accessed 939 times.