Westham, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  SussexGotoarrow.png  Sussex Parishes

Westham, Sussex
Westham St Mary East Sussex.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Pevensey Lowey
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Eastbourne PLU
Registration District Eastbourne
Records begin
Parish registers: 1571
Bishop's Transcripts: 1596
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Pevensey
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

WESTHAM (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Eastbourne, lowey and rape of Pevensey, East division of Sussex, six miles North East from Eastbourne. This parish is bounded on the south by the English Channel. The village is on the road to Battle and Hastings, and here is a station of the Brighton and Hastings railway. The church is partly in the later English style, and partly of earlier date, with a square embattled tower.[1]


 St Mary is an Ancient Parish in the Wealden district of East Sussex which included Polegate. The civil parish of Westham includes Westham; Stone Cross; and Hankham.

A history of the Church Westham St Mary

The parish church of St Mary Westham has been designated asa grade I listed building British listed building

Westham Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)

See also Westham wikipedia and list of places of worship in Wealden Wikipedia

From this Parish Polegate St John, Sussex developed (1874-1876)

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

For civil registration history see Eastbourne registration district
Certificates may be obtained from
East Sussex The Register Office Town Hall Grove Road
Eastbourne BN21 4UG Phone 01323 464780 Fax01323 431386 email eastbourne.registrar@eastsussex.gov.uk

Church records

Westham, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[4]
SOPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free[5]
WESTHAM PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1651-1775

IGI 1571-1812 1571-1812
PALL
1790-1812

SOPC Undefined
Undefined
Undefined



Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Westham

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464163.

 

Poor Law Unions

Eastbourne Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web site

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 517-519. Adapted 16 May 2013.
  2. Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county, Origins.net (Wayback Machine), accessed 30 December 2013.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 January 2014.
  4. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  5. Sussex Online Parish Clerks, accessed 7 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 23:11.
  • This page has been accessed 920 times.