Westhampnett, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  SussexGotoarrow.png  Sussex Parishes  

Westhampnett, Sussex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Box and Stockbridge
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Westhampnett PLU
Registration District Westhampnett
Records begin
Parish registers: 1734
Bishop's Transcripts: 1584
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Boxgrove
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

HAMPNETT, WEST (St. Peter), a parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of Box and Stockbridge, rape of Chichester, West division of Sussex, one and one half mile North East from Chichester.The parish is situated on the road from Chichester to Arundel. The church is chiefly in the early English style, with some Norman remains, and a tower at the east end of the aisle; in the north wall of the chancel is a mural monument of Caen stone to Richard and Elizabeth Sackville, whose effigies are sculptured in a kneeling posture: the church was newly pewed in 1838. [1]


Westhampnett is a village and civil parish in the Chichester district of West Sussex. Westhampnett Wikipedia

Westhampnett St Peter is an Ancient Parish; the history of the church is available at Sussex Parish Churches Westhampnett St Peter

The Parish Church of St Peter has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building

Westhampnett Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC) and St Peter

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Westhampnett, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[2]
Westhampnett, Sussex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PRTS 1584-1901
1592-1901
1584-1901


Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Westhampnett

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474674.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 387-391. Adapted 16 May 2013
  2. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 22 December 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 23:13.
  • This page has been accessed 1,118 times.