Westleigh St Paul, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England go to Lancashire go to Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Westleigh St Paul, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Westleigh St Paul, Lancashire
St. Paul's Church, Westleigh, on Westleigh Lane Lancashire.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred West Derby
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Leigh PLU
Registration District Leigh
Records begin
Parish registers: None
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Eccles
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

WESTLEIGH, a township with a chapel, in the parish and union of Leigh, hundred of West Derby, S. division of Lancashire, 1½ mile north by northwest of the town of Leigh, Lancashire. A chapel of ease, St. Paul's, of which the foundation stone was laid in June 1846, was consecrated in October, 1847. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Lancashire Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Westleigh St Paul chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Leigh to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk


WESTLEIGH ST PAUL (1848) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None  1851-1901 - part.
LOPC None 1892-1900 1848-1901
LBMD None None  None
LEIGH ST MARY'S PARISH (1558) Indexes (ancient parish containing WESTLEIGH Chapelry)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1559-1872 1701-1845  1753-1857
LOPC 1700-1901 1560-1901 1660-1856 
FMP  None 1560-1624 None
LBMD None 1837-1950 None 
AC 1558-1700 1558-1700 1558-1700


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Westleigh St Paul and comprising the whole ancient parish of Leigh to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the LEIGH ST MARY PARISH page.


Westleigh- St Paul

Transcripts of burials and some marriages available on-line at Lancashire Online Parish Clerks site.

Baptisms-1847-1886- Archives L278
Burials-1848-1921- Archives L278

The Manchester Room and Greater Manchester County Record Office
Email: archiveslocalstudies@manchester.gov.uk

The Manchester Room@City Library (Local Studies)


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306901.


Poor Law Unions

Leigh, Lancashire Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 517-519. Adapted. Date accessed: 08 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 June 2014, at 15:11.
  • This page has been accessed 1,743 times.