Westmeston, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Sussex Gotoarrow.png  Sussex Parishes

Westmeston, Sussex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Street
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Chailey PLU
Registration District Lewes
Records begin
Parish registers: 1587
Bishop's Transcripts: 1606
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Lewes
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

WESTMESTON (St. Martin), a parish, in the union of Chailey, hundred of Street, rape of Lewes, East division of Sussex, five and three-forths miles North by West from Lewes. It contains the chapelry of East Chiltington. The church is principally in the early English style, with a plain Norman arch between the nave and chancel; it contains a rudely-constructed circular stone font, and at the east end of the south aisle is an ancient chapel, the burial-place of the Marten family. At East Chiltington is a chapel of ease.[1]


Westmeston is a hamlet and civil parish in the Lewes district of East Sussex Westmeston Wikipedia

Westmeston St Martin is an Ancient Parish which included Novington, the history of the church is available at Sussex Parish Churches Westmeston St Martin

The Parish Church of St Martin has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building

Westmeston Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC) and St Martin

list of places of worship in Lewes district

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 this parish was in Lewes Registration District
Certificates may be obtained from
East Sussex
The Register Office
Town Hall
Grove Road
Eastbourne
BN21 4UG
Phone: 01323 464780
Fax: 01323 431386
Email:eastbourne.registrar@eastsussex.gov.uk

Church records

Westmeston, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
SOPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free[4]
Westmeston, Sussex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1880-1894
1881-1894

IGI 1587-1881 1587-1894
SOPC Undefined
Undefined

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Westmeston

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464161.


The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Poor Law Unions

Chailey Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 519-524. Adapted 16 May 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 30 December 2013.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 3 January 2014.
  4. Sussex Online Parish Clerks, accessed 7 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 23:13.
  • This page has been accessed 820 times.