Westminster St Anne Soho, MiddlesexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Parishes

Guide to Westminster St Anne Soho, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Stannswestminster.jpg

Contents

Parish History

St Anne's Soho [Westminster], the church of, is situated on the south of Dean Street, Soho, near the lower end towards Gerard Street; and the church yard reaches from Dean Street on the east to Princes Street on the west. This church and parish owe their origin to the same cause as the last named [see the above "St Anne's Society" in this dictionary] and was separated from the overgrown parish of St Martin in the Fields by an act of parliament, passed in the year 1661, the provisions of which were however not completed till 1678, and the present church was finished in 1686, on a spot formerly called Kemp's Fields. It is dedicated to St Anne of Denmark, afterwards Queen Anne. The advowson is in the gift of the Bishop of London...[1]

Westminster St Anne Soho, Middlesex.[2]

Additional information:

The following French Huguenot chapels were erected in this illustrious Westminster parish:

  • Ryder's Court Chapel, St. Ann's, - 1700
  • West Street Chapel, Soho – 1706
  • Monmouth House Chapel, Soho Square - 1690
  • Les Grecs Hog La. or Crown Street Soho - 1700
  • Little Chapel Street
  • LaPatente Street Chapel - 1689
  • Berwick Street Chapel - 1690

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Westminster St Anne Soho, Middlesex Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
.
.
.
Images 1817-1931 findmypast[3] 1809-1832 findmypast[3]
Indexes 1817-1931 findmypast[3] 1809-1832 findmypast[3]

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census and Inhabitants Lists

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438883.

1693-1694 Four Shilling in the Pound Aid

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Soho St Anne on GENUKI

References

  1. James Elmes, Google Books A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs, (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Digitised by []. Adapted. Date accessed: 23 January 2014.
  2. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 23 January 2014.
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 3.3 'Westminster parish records coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 27 March 2012. Indexed collection.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 21 November 2014, at 16:21.
  • This page has been accessed 3,069 times.