Westminster St John the Evangelist, MiddlesexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Parishes

Guide to Westminster St John the Evangelist, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Westminster St John the Evangelist, Middlesex
Londonstjohnevangelist.jpg
London St John Evangelist
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Westminster
County Middlesex
Poor Law Union Westminster PLU
Registration District Westminster
Records begin
Parish registers: 1728
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not created until 1858
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1700 - Court of the Royal Peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of Westminster; Post-1699 - Court of the Archdeaconry of Middlesex
Location of Archive
Middlesex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

St John the Evangelist, Westminster [built by 1728], is situated in a small square or close, southward of the Abbey, and between Millbank Street and Tufton Street. It is one of the fifty new churches voted by parliament in Queen Anne's reign, and was designed by Archer, a cotemporary of Hawksmoor and Vanburgh, to the latter of whom is has been erroneously attributed. This parish was taken from that of St Margaret Westminster, by act of parliament. The church is a rectory, in the county and archdeaconry of Middlesex, in the diocese of London.[1]

Westminster St John the Evangelist, Middlesex.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Westminster St John the Evangelist Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
.
.
.
Indexes 1728-1755 FamilySearch[3] 1728-1754 FamilySearch[4] 1731-1842 findmypast[5]
    1813-1837 Ancestry[6]    

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Here is a list of those known chapelS of ease which were standing within the parish boundaries of St John the Evangelist, Smith Square:

  • All Saints, Knightsbridge - 1849
  • Christ Church, Broadway, formerly New Chapel - 1631
  • Holy Trinity, Knightsbridge - 1843 (used to be
  • Knightsbridge Chapel ca. 1629)
  • Royal Military Church - 1891
  • St. Andrew, Victoria Street - 1856
  • St. Peter, Abbey - 1607 (Westminster Abbey)
  • St Peter, Regent St, Westminster - 1861

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438839.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Westminster St Jon in Westminster St Margaret on GENUKI

References

  1. James Elmes, Google Books A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs, (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Digitised by []. Adapted. Date accessed: 23 January 2014.
  2. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 23 January 2014.
  3. Batch C054191, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (N-Z), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 17 March 2012.
  4. Batch M054191, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (N-Z), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 17 March 2012.
  5. "Boyd's London Burials Index - places and counts," Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes adult male burials only.
  6. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 21 November 2014, at 16:31.
  • This page has been accessed 3,432 times.