Westminster St Margaret, MiddlesexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Parishes

Here is a Comprehensive List of Chapels and District Churches within the Civil Parish Boundaries of St Margaret Westminster as of 1900.

Westminster St Margaret, Middlesex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Westminster
County Middlesex
Poor Law Union Westminster PLU
Registration District Westminster
Records begin
Parish registers: 1539
Bishop's Transcripts: Not Known
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not created until 1858
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1700 - Court of the Royal Peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of Westminster; Post-1699 - Court of the Archdeaconry of Middlesex
Location of Archive
Middlesex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Westminster St Margaret, A parish in the city and liberty of Westminster.[1]

Additional information:

Westminster St Margaret church (is a parish; parish registers begin 1538) is situated at a small distance from the north door of Westminster Abbey. The ancient church was built in 1064, by Edward the Confessor, for the use of the neighbouring inhabitants and dedicated to the before-mentioned St Margaret. It was rebuilt in the reign of Edward I, by the parishioners and merchants of the Staple[Inn], except the chancel which was erected at the charge of the Abbot of Westminster. In 1735, it was repaired and the tower cased... granted by parliament, in consideration of its being the church wherein the House of Commons attend divine service, as the peers do in Westminster Abbey. In 1758, it was again repaired at the public expense, and again about thirty years ago [about 1800]... This church is a rectory in the city and archdeaconry of Westminster, a peculiar of the Dean and Chapter, and therefore not subject to episcopal visitation, and in the patronage of the Dean and Chapter of Westminster.[2]


Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Westminster St Margaret Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1539
1539
1539
Images
Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[3]
Ancestry[4] Ancestry[5] Ancestry[6]
Indexes 1539-1660 InternetArchive[7] 1539-1660 InternetArchive[7] 1539-1660 InternetArchive[7]
1539-1660 TheGenealogist[8] 1539-1658 TheGenealogist[8] 1539-1660

TheGenealogist[8]

1539-1688 FamilySearch[9] 1539-1699 FamilySearch[10] 1539-1848 FindMyPast[11]
1675-1681 Ancestry[12] 1539-1800 FindMyPast[13] 1664-1666 Ancestry[12]
1539-1837 Joiner[14]
1676-1682 BritishOrigins[15]
1675-1681 Ancestry[12]
    1813-1817
1822
Ancestry[16]    

Christenings from 1539 to 1688, marriages from 1539 to 1699, and burials from 1539 to 1673 have been published. Several of the books are still under copyright and hence have not yet been digitised.[17]

Abstracts of some churchwardens' accounts from 1460 to 1603 are included in:

  • Burke, Arthur Meredyth. Memorials of St. Margaret's Church, Westminster, Comprising the Parish Registers, 1539-1660, and Other Churchwardens' Accounts, 1460-1603. London: Eyre and Spottiswoode, Ltd, 1914. Digitised by Internet Archive.

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438839.

1664 Hearth Tax
1693-1694 Four Shilling in the Pound Aid


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Cemetery

Westminster St Margaret Churchyard database at Find A Grave. (70+ entries)

Poor Law Unions

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 22 January 2014.
  2. James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digitised by Google Books.
  3. London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as . Marriages from 1754 to 1812 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
  4. London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as . Partially indexed.
  5. London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as . Partially indexed.
  6. London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as . Partially indexed.
  7. 7.0 7.1 7.2 Arthur Meredyth Burke, Memorials of St. Margaret's Church, Westminster, Comprising the Parish Registers, 1539-1660, and Other Churchwardens' Accounts, 1460-1603 (London: Eyre and Spottiswoode, Ltd, 1914). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  8. 8.0 8.1 8.2 'London Parish Record Transcripts,' The Genealogist, accessed 10 March 2012.
  9. Batches C001602, P001601, P001603, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (N-Z), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 17 March 2012.
  10. Batches M001601, M001602, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (N-Z), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 17 March 2012.
  11. "Boyd's London Burials Index - places and counts," Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes adult male burials only (24,434 entries).
  12. 12.0 12.1 12.2 'About Middlesex, England, Extracted Parish Records,' Ancestry, accessed 12 May 2012.
  13. "Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county," Origins.net, accessed 12 June 2011; Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists Enterprises Ltd., 1994). FHL Book 942 K22L 1994 (39,362 entries).
  14. 'Search Marriage Records in Middlesex,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 20 March 2012.
  15. 'Webb's London Marriages - Marriages, periods and parishes/churches,' British Origins, accessed 12 March 2012.
  16. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
  17. Stuart A. Raymond, London and Middlesex: A Genealogical Bibliography, 2nd ed. (Birmingham, Eng.: Federation of Family History Societies, 1998), 33.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 8 August 2014, at 19:24.
  • This page has been accessed 3,733 times.