Westminster St Mary under Croft, MiddlesexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Parishes

Guide to Westminster St Mary Under Croft, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Here is a Comprehensive List of Chapels and District Churches within the Civil Parish Boundaries of St Margaret Westminster as of 1900.

St Mary Croft Westminster, House of Parliament Chapel.jpg

Contents

Parish History

Westminster St Mary under Croft, Middlesex.[1]

Additional information:

The Chapel of St Mary Under Croft was completed by King Edward I in 1297, further developed under Edward II, and finally completed by Edward III in around 1365. While St Stephen's Chapel was the chapel of the Royal Family, the Court (later including MPs or members of Parliament) and the Royal Household worshipped at St Mary Undercroft.

This chapel came under the parochial jurisdiction of St Margaret Westminster (across the street from the Parliamentary Palace). Marriages and baptisms only, were performed in this free chapel and records of these events were lodged in the St Margaret Westminster parish registers.

For searches in these registers, contact the Westminster Abbey Muniment Room, Westminster Abbey, London SW1P 3PA

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

For searches in these chapel registers, contact the Westminster Abbey Muniment Room, Westminster Abbey, London SW1P 3PA.

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes. As this chapel is not mentioned or listed in this map project, look for the parish of St Margaret Westminster instead. These chapel registers were in fact kept by the ancient parish of St Margaret's.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438839.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Westminster St Mary in Westminster St Margaret on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. LewisA Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 22 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 21 November 2014, at 16:43.
  • This page has been accessed 1,230 times.