Westminster St Stephen's Royal Chapel, MiddlesexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.pngMiddlesex Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Parishes

Guide to Westminster St Stephen's Royal Chapel, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Westminster St Stephen's Chapel, Middlesex, England.jpg

Contents

Parish History

Westminster - St Stephen's Royal Chapel. The House of Commons was originally the chapel of St. Stephen, out of which it was formed chiefly by raising a floor above the pavement, and adding an inner roof, considerably below the ancient one. Upon the destruction of these two interesting edifices, and prior to their re-erection on a scale of appropriate magnificence, preparations were made for the temporary accommodation of the Lords and Commons, by fitting up the library of the old House of Lords, On the west of the Central Hall is St. Stephen's Hall, built on the site of the chapel of St. Stephen; communicating, by noble flights of steps, with Westminster Hall.[1]

Additional information:

St Stephen's Royal Chapel or Chapel of St Stephen was initially the King's private chapel at the Palace of Westminster, and stood on the site of what is now St Stephen's Hall. It commenced in 1184 A.D., but came into dis-use by about 1520; and was used as horse stables for Cromwell during the Civil War (1642-1649). It burned down in 1834 but was since rebuilt and remains today, as the Royal Family's privy chapel.

See the St Mary Undercroft article for any possible surviving records for this chapel.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438839.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 22 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 21 November 2014, at 16:51.
  • This page has been accessed 1,254 times.