Weston, NottinghamshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

Weston All Saints Nottinghamshire.jpg

Contents

Parish History

WESTON (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Southwell, N. division of the wapentake of Thurgarton, S. division of the county of Nottingham, 3 miles (S. E.) from Tuxford. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. [1]


Weston All Saints is an Ancient Parish in  the Newark and Sherwood district of Nottinghamshire.

Southwell and Nottingham Church History project are researching this parish history Weston All Saints

The church of All Saints has been designated a grade I listed building British listed building

See Weston Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Weston, Nottinghamshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
WESTON PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL
1790-1837

Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Weston All Saints  Baptisms 1559-1901 Marriages 1559-1901 Burials 1560-1955 Bishop's Transcripts 1616-1842
Nottinghamshire County Council
County Hall
West Bridgford
Nottingham
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Weston

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438909.

See Nottinghamshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Southwell Poor Law Union,Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 519-524. Date accessed: 21 October 2013.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 04:42.
  • This page has been accessed 694 times.