Weston Rhyn, ShropshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

EnglandGotoarrow.pngShropshireGotoarrow.pngWeston Rhyn

Weston Rhyn is a village and parish in Shropshire, England.

Contents

History

The parish of Weston Rhyn lies on Offa's Dyke, the massive earthwork, stretching from Chepstow in the south to Prestatyn in the north, which was constructed in the late 8th century by Offa, King of Mercia, as a boundary between Saxon Mercia and Celtic Wales. The section of the dyke between Castle Mill and Craignant remains well preserved. Although the dyke passed directly through Bronygarth, the area remained strongly Welsh in culture, customs and language. Settlements were mainly in the valley, along the banks of the River Ceiriog, but with a small number of farms extending higher up the mountainside.

Two Celtic carved stone heads were uncovered at Well Cottage in Bronygarth and are now on display at the British Museum.

Weston Rhyn is recorded as Westune in the Doomsday Book.

The area was part of the Traean in the Lordship of Oswestry which was associated with the Fitzalan dynasty for many centuries. In 1536, the Act of Union of England and Wales placed all of the Lordship of Oswestry within the county of Shropshire in England.

Throughout the Middle Ages the area was dominated by nearby Chirk Castle, across the River Ceiriog, and the Myddleton family.

The main Cardiff to Chester highway crossed the River Ceiriog at Pontfaen.

The area changed from agricultural to industrial in the 19th century with coal mining and limestone quarrying being the main industries until the 1960s.

By 1848 the Chester to Ruabon railway line had been extended south to Shrewsbury, with a station built at Preesgweene (later known as Weston Rhyn). Several branch lines were built to link the collieries in the area to the main rail network.

Weston Rhyn was historically part of the ancient Parish of St. Martin's. However, in 1870, the neighbouring townships of Weston Rhyn and Bronygarth were formed into a separate ecclesiastical district known as “The Lodge”. Later, in 1898, the civil parish of Weston Rhyn was created.

The parish was originally part of the Welsh Diocese of St Asaph but, following the disestablishment of the Anglican Church in Wales in 1920, Weston Rhyn was transferred to the English Diocese of Lichfield.

Llanfarthin.png

Records

Civil Records

Weston Rhyn formed part of the St. Martin's sub-district of the Oswestry Registration District and any entries for births, marriages or deaths from 1837 in Weston Rhyn will appear as Oswestry in the GRO Indexes.

Church Records

Weston Rhyn, Shropshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = Shropshire Records (findmypast) - (£)[1][2][3]
Weston Rhyn, Shropshire Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined

Nonconformist Church Records

 

Census Records

Weston Rhyn formed part of the Oswestry Registrar's District.

Year Parts
1841
1851
1861
1871
1881
1891
1901

Maps and Gazetteers

See also

Bibliography

  • G. G. Lerry, "Collieries of Denbighshire", 1968
  • C. Neville Hurdsman, "A History of the Parishes of St. Martin's & Weston Rhyn", 2003

Websites

References

  1. 'Shropshire Baptisms 1538-1900,' findmypast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  2. 'Shropshire Marriages 1538-1900,' findmypast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  3. 'Shropshire Burials 1538-1900,' findmypast, accessed 28 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 06:31.
  • This page has been accessed 2,014 times.