Weston St John, SomersetEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

EnglandGotoarrow.png Somerset Gotoarrow.png Somerset Parishes

Guide to Weston St John, Somerset family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Weston St John, Somerset
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bath-Forum
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Bath PLU
Registration District Bath
Records begin
Parish registers: 1878
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Keynsham
Diocese Bath and Wells
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Bath and Wells (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Somerset Record Office

Contents

Parish History

WESTON (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Bath, hundred of Bath-Forum, E. division of Somerset, 1¾ mile (N. W.by W.) from Bath. Another church, dedicated to St. John, was erected in 1836; and the chapel attached to Partis' College, noticed in the article on Bath, is also in Weston parish. There are places of worship for Wesleyans and Lady Huntingdon's Connexion.[1]

Additional information:

Weston St John is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Somerset, created in 1841 from Weston Ancient Parish.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Bath Civil Registration District has a complete index of civil registration from 1837-2007 online through the volunteer effort of Bath BMD,England Marriage registrations post 2007 are added as index become available. There are detailed content tables available.

Church records

Somerset Online Parish Clerks

Contributor include here any information about the transcripts for the parish and links to the Online Parish Clerk material.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474593.

Poor Law Unions

Bath Poor Law Union, Somerset

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SOM/Weston/index.html

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 27 September 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 11 August 2014, at 20:34.
  • This page has been accessed 551 times.