Wettenhall, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Wettenhall

Guide to Wettenhall, Cheshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

Wettenhall, Cheshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Eddisbury
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Nantwich PLU
Registration District Nantwich
Records begin
Parish registers: 1824
Bishop's Transcripts: 1824
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Middlewich
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

WETTENHALL, is a township-chapelry in Over parish, Cheshire; 2½ miles NNE of Calveley railway station, and 5 E by S of Tarporley. It has a post-office under Middlewich. There is a Primitive Methodist chapel.[1]

Wettenhall St David is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Cheshire, created in 1720 from chapelry in   Over, Cheshire  Ancient Parish. An ancient chapelry in Over parish, rebuilt in 1870

English: Wettenhall is a village (at SJ 624 614) and civil parish in the unitary authority of Cheshire East and the ceremonial county of Cheshire, England. The village lies 3½ miles to the south west of Winsford and 6 miles to the north west of Crewe. The parish also includes the settlements of Chapel Green and Woodside. Nearby villages include Alpraham, Calveley, Cholmondeston, Church Minshull, Little Budworth and Tarporley.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241236.

Church records

Wettenhall St David parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Wettenhall St David Parish (1824) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1824-1867
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
FS BT'S 1824-1864
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

 Here is a list of Wettenhall parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Parish registers: Cheshire Record Office no.: P220/1.

Parish registers for Wettenhall, 1824-1867 Film
Baptisms, 1824-1867.
1656758 Item 4

Bishop's transcripts: Cheshire Record Office: EDB 216

Bishop's transcripts for Wettenhall, 1824-1864 Film
Baptisms, 1824-1850, 1855-1864. 1647760 Item 3

Non Conformist Churches

  • Primitive Methodist

Non-Conformists records:

Wesleyan Methodist records at Cheshire Record Office call no.: EMS 248/1.

Church records for the Cholmondeston Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, Wettenhall, 1914-1969 Film
Marriages, 1914-1969.
Granite Mountain Record Vault British Film 2299419 Item 4


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

Nantwich (1837–1937)
Crewe (1937–74)
Congleton and Crewe (1974–88)
South Cheshire (1988–98)
Cheshire Central (post 1998) The post 2009 reorganization of civil registration can be found online at Cheshire BMD

Poor Law Unions

Nantwich Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date Accessed: 16 April 2013
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 October 2014, at 01:00.
  • This page has been accessed 841 times.