Wetwang, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png YorkshireGotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes S-Y Gotoarrow.png East Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Wetwang

Guide to Wetwang, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

  
Wetwang, Yorkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Buckrose
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Driffield PLU
Registration District Driffield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1653
Bishop's Transcripts: 1632
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Buckrose
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Prebend of Wetwang; Court of the Peculiar of the Provost of the Collegiate Church of St John, Beverley
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813. Church of England records began in 1653.

WETWANG (St. Michael), a parish, in the union of Driffield, wapentake of Buckrose, E. riding of York; containing the chapelry of Fimber, 5¾ miles (W. by N.) from Driffield. The Wesleyans have a place of worship. [1]

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Wetwang exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

IARC = Internet Archive - free
FS = FamilySearch.org
ANC = ancestry.co.uk (£)
HATH = HathiTrust.org - free
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
  WETWANG PARISH (1747) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1747-1868

1754-1849

None

JOIN None

1754-1837

None

AC None

None

None


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Fimber and comprising the whole ancient parish of Wetwang to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the Wetwang page.

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, nonconformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the FamilySearch Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464216.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 529-534. Adapted. Date accessed: 14 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:03.
  • This page has been accessed 1,399 times.