Weyanoke Parish, VirginiaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  Virginia  Gotoarrow.png  Weyanoke Parish

Contents

History

Weyanoke Parish served Charles City County, Virginia and Prince George County, Virginia until it was absorbed by other parishes in 1720.

Founded

Boundary

Two acts, culled from Colonial Office at the National Archives in London, provide information about Westover Parish:

  1. "An Act for enlarging Charles City County; and for consolidating those parts of the Parishes of Westover and Weynoake, on the North side James River; and that part of Wallingford Parish, on the West side Chicohominy River" (1720)
  2. "An Act to divide those parts of the Parishes of Westover and Weynoake, which lie on the South side James River, from those parts of the said Parishes which lie on the North side the said River; and for uniting Westover and Weynoake Parishes; on the South side James River, to Martin Brandon Parish, in the County of Prince George; and for erecting a Chapel in Bristol Parish, in the said County" (1720)

Published in:

  • Chamberlayne, Churchill G. "Seven Parish Acts Heretofore Unpublished," The William and Mary Quarterly, Vol. 18, No. 1 (Jan. 1938):106-118. FHL Book 973 H25w; digital version at JSTOR ($).

Variant Spellings

Resources

Cemetery

In 1896, Lyon G. Tyler transcribed a grave he found at the site of this old church.[3]

Parish Records

No parish registers or vestry minutes are known to survive.

References

  1. Freddie Spradlin, "Parishes of Virginia," VAGenWeb, accessed 29 January 2011; Hening's Statutes at Large; Emily J. Salmon and Edward D.C. Campbell Jr., The Hornbook of Virginia History (Richmond: Library of Virginia, 1994).
  2. Churchill G. Chamberlayne, "Seven Parish Acts Heretofore Unpublished," The William and Mary Quarterly, Vol. 18, No. 1 (Jan. 1938):106-118. FHL Book 973 H25w; digital version at JSTOR ($).
  3. Lyon G. Tyler, "Old Tombstones in Charles City County," The William and Mary Quarterly, Vol. 4, No. 3 (Jan. 1896):148.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:17.
  • This page has been accessed 3,177 times.