Weybread, SuffolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk   Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk Parishes  Gotoarrow.png  Weybread

Contents

Parish History

WEYBREAD, a large and well-built village, pleasantly situated on the southern acclivity of the vale of the Waveney, 2 1/2 miles S. by W. of Harleston, and 8 1/2 miles E.N.E. of Eye, has in its parish 771 souls, and 2476a. 2r. 35p. of land, including roads, &c. Here are two large corn mills on the Waveney, and a little below is Shotford Bridge, crossing the river to Brockdish, in Norfolk. The parish is in four manors, of which the following are the names and lords:—Weybread Hall, Mr. Jennings Booty; the Rectory Manor, John Cutts ; Hoblitis, Wm. Cook, Esq; and Instead, Mr. William Richards..... William White, 1844 Gazetteer of Suffolk, page 473 to 474

Resources

If you live in Suffolk then you will have access to a variety of resources; however, for those who live further afield, one can access microfilm and online records at Family History Centers.   Refer to Weybread and Suffolk in the FamilySearch Catalog for available records.

Civil Registration

Weybread is in Hoxne district. To search an index of Hoxne district records go to FreeBMD. The Suffolk Civil Registration article tells more about these records.

Church records

Weybread, Suffolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

1813 = Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) (FindMyPast) - (£)[1]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[3]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[4]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[5]
Weybread, Suffolk Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
1813 1813-1837
BOYD
1687-1837

JOIN
1687-1837

NBI

1694-1902
TGEN
1687-1837

The Parish Registers begin in 1687.  They can be view at the Suffolk Record Office.  A copy of the registers from 1687 to 1900 can be purchased from the  Suffolk Record Office.  For pre 1813 Bishop Transcript entries you will need to look in Hoxne Deanry, Archdeaconry of Suffolk.  Parish Chest records are considerable for Weybread.   See Suffolk Church Record for further details.

Census records

There are census records available for Weybread from 1841 to 1911. Census records are available on a variety of subscription and other websites. If you need to consult the 1841 to 1891 census on microfilm, refer to Weybread, England, Census in the library catalogue.
There is statistical data available for the census years 1801 to 1931 that records the number of houses, families, people, and other statistical data for every parish in the county.
Refer to the Suffolk Census wiki article for details.

Probate records

Prior to 1858 the primary court that had jurisdiction over Weybread was the Archdeaconry of Suffolk; however, a person’s will or administration may have been probated in nearby courts or even in London. After 1858 it was in Ipswich District.  Refer to the Suffolk Probate Records article for further details.

Maps and Gazetteers

  • Suffolk Gazetteers and Directories from 1839 to 1909 - Suffolk Gazetteers and directories provide a brief history and description of each parish and lists principal residents. They mention the farmers and tradesman in each parish and the nearest market towns among other things of interest.
  • National Gazetteers provide a brief description of each place

Websites

Had two large corn mills on the river Waveney


References

  1. 'Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 9 December 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Suffolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 3 December 2013.
  4. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 4 December 2013.
  5. 'Parish Records,' TheGenealogist, accessed 26 April 2014.
  6. Lewis,Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848),pp. 529-534. Date accessed: 09 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 22:44.
  • This page has been accessed 1,915 times.