Whaddon, BuckinghamshireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Whaddon, Buckinghamshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Winslow PLU|
|Parish registers: 1584|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1599|
|Diocese||Pre-1845 - Lincoln; Post-1844 - Oxford|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Buckingham|
|Location of Archive|
|Buckinghamshire Record Office|
WHADDON, a village, a township, and a parish, in Winslow district, Bucks. The village stands 3½ miles N by E of Swanbourne r. station, and 4½ S by E of Stony-Stratford.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Whaddon, Buckinghamshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|Whaddon, Buckinghamshire Online Parish Records|
- Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints
- Society of Friends/Quaker
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241215.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Buckinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Whaddon on GENUKI
- This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 19:27.
- This page has been accessed 1,005 times.