Whalton, NorthumberlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Parishes

Guide to Whalton, Northumberland family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Whalton, Northumberland
Whalton St Mary Magdalene Northumberland.jpg
Whalton St Mary Magdalene Northumberland
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Castle
County Northumberland
Poor Law Union Castle Ward PLU
Registration District Castle Ward
Records begin
Parish registers: 1661
Bishop's Transcripts: 1769
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Morpeth
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Northumberland Record Office

Contents

Parish History

WHALTON, a parish, in the union and W. division of Castle ward, S. division of Northumberland, containing, with the townships of Newham, Ogle, and Riplington. The church is a venerable edifice of freestone. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1]

Additional information:

Whalton is an Ancient Parish and includes: Newham, Newham near Morpeth, Ogle, and Riplington. There were mediaeval villages at Ogle, Shilvington, Twizell and Riplington. The incursion of Scottish raiders meant that fortifications were needed; indeed one of the highest points in the parish is called Watch Hill and hints at the vigilance needed at this time. Towers were built at The Old Rectory in Whalton, at Kirkley, and at Ogle where the Ogle family built Ogle Castle. The strength of religion was strong in the medieval period and the Ogles sponsored alterations to the Church of St Mary Magdalene as the main parish church, and a further possible chapel at Ogle itself.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

Whalton, Northumberland parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
WHALTON PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL
1790-1812

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections Reference number: DDR/EA/PBT/2/265 Date: 1769-1825
Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records.

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

Whalton, St Mary Magdalene: Records of baptisms and marriages 1661-1900 and burials 1661-1889 are available at Northumberland Collections Service. The International Genealogical Index (I.G.I.) includes baptisms 1661-1812 and marriages 1661-1812 for this parish, and Boyd's Marriage Index includes marriages 1661-1812. Transcripts of baptisms, burials and marriages 1661-1812 are available at Tyne and Wear Archives Service and in the Local Studies Departments of Newcastle Central Library and Gateshead Central Library. A transcript of monumental inscriptions at Whalton (microfiche TN90) is published by Northumberland and Durham Family History Society and these records are also available in book form at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Dept.

FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438890.

Poor Law Unions

Castle Ward Poor Law Union, Northumberland

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 13 August 2013.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
Add any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 May 2014, at 16:25.
  • This page has been accessed 785 times.