Wharton County, TexasEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Texas
Counties W
Wharton County
Guide to Wharton County Texas genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Wharton County, Texas | |||||||
| Map | |||||||
![]() Location in the state of Texas | |||||||
![]() Location of Texas in the U.S. | |||||||
| Facts | |||||||
| Founded | April 3, 1846 | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| County Seat | Wharton | ||||||
| Courthouse | |||||||
| |||||||
Contents |
County Courthouse
Wharton County Courthouse
100 E Milam Street PO Box 69
Wharton, TX 77488
Phone: 979.532.2381
County Clerk has birth and death records from 1903, marriage records from 1857, land records from 1846, probate records from 1849, court records from 1909 and military records from 1919.[1]
History
Parent County
1846--Wharton County was created 3 April 1846 from Matagorda, Jackson, and Colorado Counties.County seat: Wharton [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Places / Localities
Populated Places
Boling | Danevang | East Bernard | El Campo | Glen Flora | Hungerford | Lissie | Louise | Wharton
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Cemeteries
Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
| Online Grave Transcripts | Published Grave Transcripts | County Cemetery Directories |
| WorldCat |
||
| |
||
| |
||
| Billion Graves | |
|
| |
| |
| |
| |
| See Texas Cemeteries for more information. | ||
Census
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1850 | 1,752 | — |
| 1860 | 3,380 | 92.9% |
| 1870 | 3,426 | 1.4% |
| 1880 | 4,549 | 32.8% |
| 1890 | 7,584 | 66.7% |
| 1900 | 16,942 | 123.4% |
| 1910 | 21,123 | 24.7% |
| 1920 | 24,288 | 15.0% |
| 1930 | 29,681 | 22.2% |
| 1940 | 36,158 | 21.8% |
| 1950 | 36,077 | −0.2% |
| 1960 | 38,152 | 5.8% |
| 1970 | 36,729 | −3.7% |
| 1980 | 40,242 | 9.6% |
| 1990 | 39,955 | −0.7% |
| 2000 | 41,188 | 3.1% |
| Source: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau. | ||
Church
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death/burial date and place. For general information about Texas denominations, view the Texas Church Records wiki page.
Court
Land
After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.
The Family History Library Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.
Local Histories
Local histories are available for Wharton County, Texas. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.
- The Book of Wharton County, Texas, 1926 by J. O. Graham.
- A History of Wharton County, 1964 by Annie Lee Williams.
- Wharton County History from the Handbook of Texas Online.
Maps
- Wharton County 1900 from the TXGenWeb site
Military
- Men and Women of Wharton County in World War II photos and information
- Confederate Pension Applications filed in Wharton County
Newspapers
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Wharton County, Texas newspapers in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Do a Wharton County, Texas Place-name search for these and other records in the Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
- Wharton Journal Spectator
115 W Burleson St.
Wharton, TX 77488-5003 - El Campo Leader-News
203 E Jackson St.
El Campo, TX 77437-4413 - East Bernard Tribune
218 Dill Street
East Bernard, TX 77435
Probate
Probate records of Texas have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.
See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Taxation
Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.
Texas County Tax Rolls, 1846-1910 lists FHL films with county tax lists. The lists vary by county and year. Most records are between the years of 1846 - 1910.
Vital Records
See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas. Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. United States Vital Records has additional research guidance on researching and using vital records.
A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
- Texas Death Index 1964 to 1998 [no images] Name index to Texas Statewide Death Certificates or four million people who have died since 1964.
- Texas Death Records 1890 – 1976 [with images]
Name index and images of statewide death certificates, 1890-1976. The name index has been created by FamilySearch and is tied to images of the Texas death certificates. Few certificates are available prior to 1903.
Societies and Libraries
- Wharton County Library
Central Branch - 1920 North Fulton
Wharton, Texas 77488
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- Wharton County TXGenWeb Site history, genealogy and general information about Wharton County.
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wharton County, Texas. Page 676 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 25 April 2013, at 16:30.
- This page has been accessed 1,843 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More


