What regiment did my ancestor serve in- Soldiers?Edit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
RECORDS FOR FINDING SOLDIERS' REGIMENT NAME OR NUMBER
- Home Sources: especially medals and awards, discharge papers, diaries and journals, personal knowledge, pictures - especially of soldiers in full military dress, old letters, etc.
- Civil Registration of Births, Marriages, and Deaths: July 1837-present; certificates usually give regiment name or number and/or rank.
- Census Records: 1841-1911; find the soldier and/or family; search other census records; often gives the regiment name or number of soldier (or officer)
- Regimental Registers of births, baptisms, marriages, deaths, burials of soldiers and their families: 1761-1924; The National Archives & FHL has birth indexes.
- Chaplain Returns of baptisms, marriages, burials at stations abroad: 1796-1880; The National Archives & FHL has films.
- Beckett's Index of Chelsea Pensioners: 1806-1838; WO 120, FHL has films
- Widows' Pensions - Compassionate & Miscellaneous Papers, Registers & Indexes: W.O. 24, pieces #3108-3125; 1748-1851.
- Militia Attestation Returns: W.O. 96 - all; whole military, 1806-1915, alphabetically arranged.
- Judge Advocate General's Office; Courts Martial; confirmed at Home & Abroad: W.O. 93, indexes (to W.O. 91 & 92 Court Martial records); 1650-1922.
- Soldiers' Documents: 1760-1913; W.O. 97; (FHL has 1760-1854 only); alphabetically arranged for each of the major attachments and corps.
- Medals & Awards; Meritorious Service Awards: 1846-1923; W.O. 101, pieces 1-7; indexed (not comprehensive for the whole army).
- Soldiers' documents (& various) Regiments: 1760-1882; W.O. 97 (mostly alphabetical); FHL has pieces #1-1279 only, 1760-1854; arranged alphabetically for whole army
- Regimental Registers of Pensioners: 1717-1857; W.O. 120
- This page was last modified on 17 October 2015, at 17:12.
- This page has been accessed 996 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News