Whatlington, Sussex GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
|Poor Law Union||Battle|
|Parish registers: 1558|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1607|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes|
|Location of Archive|
|Sussex Record Office|
WHATLINGTON, a parish, in the union and hundred of Battle, rape of Hastings, East division of Sussex, two miles North by East from Battle. The village is situated on the old road to Battle, and the new road from Sedlescomb to St. Leonard's. The church is in the early English style of architecture.
Whatlington St Mary Magdalen is an Ancient Parish in Rother district of East Sussex 7 miles north of Hastings.
Church historyWhatlington St Mary Magdalene
The church of St Mary Magdalen has been designated a grade II* listed building British listed building
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
This parish was part of Battle Registration District from 1837.
Certificates may be obtained from
East Sussex County Council
The Register Office
Phone: 01323 464780
Fax: 01323 431386
Whatlington, Sussex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)|
|Whatlington, Sussex Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Whatlington
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464157.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- ↑ Samuel A. LewisA Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 534. adapted 16 May 2013.
- ↑ 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 30 December 2013.
- This page was last modified on 19 May 2015, at 22:06.
- This page has been accessed 1,973 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News