Whatton, NottinghamshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

Contents

Parish History

Whatton, Nottinghamshire
Whatton St John of Beverly Nottinghamshire.jpg
Whatton St John of Beverly Nottinghamshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bingham
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union Bingham PLU
Registration District Bingham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1626
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bingham
Diocese Lincoln
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office

WHATTON (St. John of Beverley), a parish, in the union, and N. division of the wapentake, of Bingham, S. division of the county of Nottingham, 2¾ miles (E.) from Bingham 3 containing, with the township of Aslacton. There is a place of worship for Weslevans. [1]

Whatton is an Ancient Parish and includes Aslacton; it is sometimes referred to as Whatton in the Vale and is within the vale of Belvoir .

Southwell and Nottingham Church History project have described the church Whatton St John of Beverley

The parish church dates from the 11th century in part but  rebuilding in 1846 and 1870 resulted in the present church on the site which has been designated a grade II* listed building British listed building

See also Whatton Wikipedia

From this parish was formed Aslockton St Thomas, Nottinghamshire in 1891-1892

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Whatton, Nottinghamshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
WHATTON PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL
1538-1812

Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1538-1902 Marriages 1538-1902 Burials 1539-1904 Bishop's Transcripts 1626-1851
Nottinghamshire County Council
County Hall
West Bridgford
Nottingham
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Whatton

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438903.

See Nottinghamshire Census

Court Records

Transcribed by Peters, Doreen. Extracts From the Nottingham Quarter Sessions Minute Books 1802. Alist of people who had defective Weights and Measures, Penalty and costs, dated 26 April 1802, in the area of Whatton, surnames are Parnham, Sherrack, and Kirk. Article availabe at Nottinghamshire Archeves Ref QSM 1/34, also in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 123, pages 46-51, FHL Ref. 942.52 D25n

Poor Law Unions

Bingham Poor Law Union, Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Whatton (Whatton-in-the-Vale) in GENUKI: www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/NTT/Whatton/index.html

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 534-537. Date accessed: 21 October 2013.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online. Called Whatton in the Vale.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 December 2014, at 19:55.
  • This page has been accessed 1,055 times.