Wheeler County, OregonEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow-kelly.png Oregon Gotoarrow-kelly.png Wheeler County

Guide to Wheeler County Oregon genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Oregon
Online Records


Wheeler County, Oregon
Map
Map of Oregon highlighting Wheeler County
Location in the state of Oregon
Map of the U.S. highlighting Oregon
Location of Oregon in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 17, 1899
County Seat Fossil
Courthouse
Address Wheeler County Courthouse
701 Adams Street
P O Box 327
Fossil, Or 97830
Phone 541-763-2400
Wheeler County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

County Clerk has probate records from 1899 and land records.
Clerk Circuit Court has divoce and court records. [1]


Wheeler County Government

County Records Inventory listing the records held at the Wheeler County Court House as of June 2008.

Wheeler County Court is structured differently. Check the County Records Inventory link for addresses for location of records (left column).

  • Record Loss:

Historical Facts

Adopt-a-wiki page
Genealogical Council of Oregon logo.jpg This page adopted by:
Genealogical Council of Oregon
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Wheeler County, Oregon

Parent Counties

17 February 1899: Wheeler County was created from Crook, Gilliam and Grant Counties. [2]

Named for Henry H. Wheeler, a early settler who owned a farm near Mitchell.

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Oregon County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Oregon County Boundary Maps" (1843-1975) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Cities

Please do not format these pages unless you have contents to add to them.

Fossil | Mitchell | Spray |

Communities

Please do not format these pages unless you have contents to add to them.

Antone | Clarno | Kinzua (a ghost town) | Richmond | Service Creek | Spoos Mill | Twickenham | Wetmore | Winlock

Neighboring Counties

Crook | Gilliam | Grant | Jefferson | Morrow | Wasco

Resources

Archives and Libraries

Biography

Cemeteries

Census

  • 1900
  • 1910
  • 1920
  • 1930

Church History and Records

Court Records

Gazetteers

History

Land and Property

Maps

Orwheeler.jpg

Military History and Records

Newspapers

Probate Records

Taxation

Vital Records

See also How to order Oregon Vital Records, order electronically online or download an application for Oregon Birth Certificate, Marriage Certificate, Divorce Certificate, Death Certificate Application to mail.

Societies, Libraries and Museums

See also a List of Oregon Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Family History Centers

Websites

Wheeler County Oregon Genealogy References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wheeler County, Oregon page 574, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. WorldCat 50140092; FHL Collection Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed.] (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002)

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 00:28.
  • This page has been accessed 3,074 times.