Wheelock, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes

Guide to Wheelock, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Wheelock, Cheshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Northwich
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Congleton PLU
Registration District Congleton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1843
Bishop's Transcripts: 1843
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Middlewich
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

WHEELOCK, a township, in the parish of Sandbach, union of Congleton, hundred of Northwich, S. division of the county of Chester, 1½ mile (S. S. W.) from Sandbach. The Grand Trunk canal passes through. A district church, dedicated to Christ, has been erected. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans, and another for Independents.[1]

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241251.

Church records

Wheelock Chirst Church parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Wheelock Christ Church Parish (1843) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1843-1870
1862-1906


FS PR's 1843-1902
  NONE
1878-1924
  NONE
1843-1926
  NONE
FS BT'S 1843-1867
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
1843-1867
  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

 Here is a list of Wheelock parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Parish registers: Cheshire Record Office no.: P262/1-3.

Parish registers for Wheelock, 1843-1926 Film
Baptisms, 1843-1902. Marriages, 1862-1924. Burials, 1843-1926.
1656758 Items 5 - 9
Baptisms, 1850-1851 (another filming)
1941850 Item 3

Bishop's transcript: Cheshire Record Office: EDB 218

Bishop's transcripts for Wheelock, 1843-1867 Film
Baptisms, burials, 1843-1846, baptisms, 1848-1849, burials, 1848, baptisms, 1849-1850, baptisms, burials, 1851-1856, burials, 1857, baptisms, (January - May) 1857. 1647760 Item 5
Baptisms, (April - October) 1857, 1858-1859, burials 1857-1859, baptisms, burials, 1860-1862, burials, 1863, 1864, baptisms, 1863, baptisms, burials,1865-1867
1647761 Item 1

Parish Churches

Sandbach St Mary

Elworth St Peter, Cheshire

Sandbach Heath St John

Non-Conformist Churches

Sandbach, St. Wenefride (Roman Catholic), Middlewich Road. Built in 1865, rebuilt in 1913.
Sandbach, Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan). Founded 1788 on Middlewich Road, rebuilt in 1871 in Wesley Avenue. 
Sandbach, Methodist Chapel (Primitive). Built in 1832 on Union Street, rebuilt in 1857 in Wells Street, closed in 1950. 
Sandbach, Providence Methodist Chapel (Free), Bradwall Road. Built in 1839, closed in 1964. .
Sandbach Heath, Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan). Built in 1851, closed in 1902.
Sandbach, Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan). Built in 1882.
Ettiley Heath, Methodist Chapel (Primitive). Built in 1888.
Sandbach, United Reformed Church (Independent/Congregational), Hope Street. Built in 1807.

Non-Conformist Records:

Church records for the Providence Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, Bradwell Road, Sandbach, 1863-1959 Cheshire Record Office reference: EMS 220/2/1, EMS 220/3/1-2.

An index for Cheshire Non-conformist records is available online in Record Search

Other Content FHL Film
Baptisms, 1863-1936. Marriages, 1910-1959. BRITISH 2299525 Items 1 - 3

Church records for the Sandbach and Alsager Wesleyan Methodist Circuit, 1838-1956 and includes Sandbach, Sandbach Heath, Alsager, Elton, Bradwall, Smallwood, Warmingham, Betchton, Coppenhall, Odd Rode, Crewe, Congleton, Lawton, Nantwich, Biddulph, Ettiley Heath, Thurlwood, Rode Heath, Willaston, Sproston, Hassall, Haslington, and Elworth.

An index for Cheshire Non-conformist records is available online in Record Search

Other Content FHL Film
Baptisms, 1838-1956. BRITISH 2299550 Item 7

Church records for the Sandbach Primitive Methodist Circuit, 1843-1946 and includes Sandbach, Haslington, Wheelock, Weston, Wybunbury, Engleston Brook, Etteley Heath, Middlewich, Newton, Barthomley, Staleybridge, Etton, Church Coppenhall, Betchton, Hough, Sydney, Crewe, Lawton, Elton, Odd Rode, Malkins Bank, Thurlwood, Thurlton, Congleton, Hassel-Green, Rode-Heath, Elworth, and Winterley. Cheshire Record Office reference: EMC 8/14/1-4.

An index for Cheshire Non-conformist records is available online in Record Search

Other Content FHL Film
Baptisms, 1843-1946 (date on title board for item 11 is wrong BRITISH 2299550 Items 8 - 11

Church records for the Welles Street Primitive Methodist Chapel, Sandbach, 1911-1946 Cheshire Record Office reference: EMS 221/1/1. An index for Cheshire Non-conformist records is available online in Record Search

Other Content FHL Film
Marriages, 1911-1946 BRITISH 2299525 Item 4

Church records for the Wesleyan Methodist Church, Hassall Green, 1838-1952 Hassall Green is within the township of Hassall in Sandbach parish. Cheshire Record Office reference: EMS 209/1. An index for Cheshire Non-conformist records is available online in Record Search

Other Content FHL Film
Baptisms, 1838-1952 (title board item incorrect). BRITISH 2299417 Item 22

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts
  •  Congleton (1837–1937)
  • Crewe (1937–74)
  • Congleton and Crewe (1974–88)
  • South Cheshire (1988–98)
  • Cheshire East (post 1998)

Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Wheelock on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Date Accessed: 16 April 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 14 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 November 2014, at 21:36.
  • This page has been accessed 1,186 times.