Whitbourne, Herefordshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Whitbourne, Herefordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Whitbourne St John the Baptist Herefordshire
|Poor Law Union||Bromyard|
|Parish registers: 1588|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1660|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Hereford (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Herefordshire Record Office|
WHITBOURNE (St. John this Baptist), a parish, in the union of Bromyard, hundred of Broxash, county of Hereford, 6 miles (E. by N.) from Bromyard. The parish is bounded on the east by the river Teme, which separates it from the county of Worcester. The Bishop of Hereford is lord of the manor, and courts leet and baron are periodically held in an ancient episcopal palace here, now occupied by a tenant. The river abounds with fish, and the vicinity is much frequented by anglers. 
Whitbourne St John the Baptist is an Ancient Parish in Eastern Herefordshire; the village and civil parish are described Whitbourne Wikipedia . Part of the parish boundary forms the county boundary with neighbouring Clifton on Teme, Worcestershire Martley, Worcestershire Knightwick with Doddenham, Worcestershire and Suckley, Worcestershire
The church of St John the Baptist has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building
Herefordshire Churches website Whitbourne St John the Baptist
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through the FHC Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
Category:England Family History Centres to locate local Family History Centres in UK
Introduction to LDS Family History Centers to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.
Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)
The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Herefordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- ↑ Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 543-551. Accessed and adapted 9 July, 2013.
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.
- This page was last modified on 9 January 2016, at 21:44.
- This page has been accessed 1,951 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News