Whitchurch, ShropshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  ShropshireGotoarrow.png  Shropshire Parishes

Guide to Whitchurch, Shropshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Part of this parish is in Cheshire. See also Whitchurch, Cheshire.

Whitchurch, Shropshire
St Alkmund Whitchurch Shropshire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Nantwich; North Bradford
County Shropshire
Poor Law Union Whitchurch Incorp PLU
Registration District Nantwich; Wem
Records begin
Parish registers: 1627
Bishop's Transcripts: 1674
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Market Drayton
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Shropshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

In 1848 - WHITCHURCH (St. Alkmund), a market-town andparish, chiefly in the Whitchurch division of the hundred of North Bradford, N. division of Shropshire, but partly in the hundred of Nantwich, S. division of Cheshire. There are places of worship for Baptists, Independents, Wesleyans, and Unitarians.[1]

Civil Records

The parish of Whitchurch originally formed part of the Wem & Whitchurch Registration District when it was created on 1 Jul 1837. A separate registration district was created for Whitchurch in 1853.

Years District Sub-district Volumes
1 Jul 1837 - 30 Mar 1853 Whitchurch Wem & Whitchurch XVIII (1837-51)
6a (1852-1853)
1 Apr 1853 - 31 Dec 1969 Whitchurch Whitchurch 6a (1853-1946)
9A (1946-1970)
1 Jan 1970 - 1974 North Shropshire Whitchurch 9A (1970-74)

Church Records

The following records for Whitchurch are available on the IGI:

Church Type Years Batch Number
St Alkmund Baptisms 1633-1723 C037561
St Alkmund Baptisms 1724-1797 C037562
St Alkmund Baptisms 1798-1858 C037563
St Alkmund Baptisms 1627-1852 M037561
St Alkmund Mixed   E037561

Whitchurch, Shropshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = Shropshire Records (FindMyPast) - (£)[2][3][4][5]
Whitchurch, Shropshire Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined

Bishop's transcripts held at Lichfield Record Office Bap 1674-1858 Marr 1674-1851 Bur 1674-1858

Nonconformist Church Records

The following records for Whitchurch are available on the IGI:

Church Type Years Batch Number
Dodington Independent Baptisms 1807-1837 C082171
Dodington Presbyterian Baptisms 1814-1836 C016452
Wesleyan Baptisms 1813-1830 & 1829-1837 C082151

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474580.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SAL/Whitchurch/index.html

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 543-551. Date accessed: 11 June 2012.
  2. 'Shropshire Baptisms 1538-1900,' FindMyPast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  3. 'Shropshire Marriages 1538-1900,' FindMyPast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  4. 'Shropshire Banns 1760-1900,' FindMyPast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  5. 'Shropshire Burials 1538-1900,' FindMyPast, accessed 28 April 2014.
 

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 August 2014, at 15:47.
  • This page has been accessed 1,116 times.