White Pine County, NevadaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to White Pine County Nevada genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

United States Gotoarrow.png Nevada Gotoarrow.png White Pine County

Hand and keyboard.jpg Nevada
Online Records


White Pine County, Nevada
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Nevada
Location of Nevada in the U.S.
Facts
Founded March 2, 1869
County Seat Ely
Courthouse
Address White Pine County Courthouse
953 Campton Street
PO Box 659
Ely, NV 89301-1002
Phone: 775.289.2341
White Pine County Website

Contents

Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Land
Probate
Court
1887*
1884*
1887*
1885
1885
1869
* For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

Resources

Biography

Cemeteries

Listing of graves by name, descriptions, site directions and some pictures for the following cemeteries in White Pine County at Interment.Net:

Information for the following cemeteries at White Pine County Cemeteries and Burials:

Church Records

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Nevada Church Records.

LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Ely
  • Lund
  • McGill
  • Preston
  • Ruth

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political or Religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Local histories are available for White Pine County, Nevada. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Nevada Local Histories.

Land and Property

The county recorder's office keeps land records once the land was transferred to private ownership. Abstracts and indexes for these records are generally available at the county courthouse.

In the FamilySearch Catalog, land records for Nevada are listed in the Place Search under: NEVADA, White Pine – LAND AND PROPERTY

Maps

Nvwhitepine.jpg








Migration

Early migration routes to and from White Pine County, Nevada for emigrant settlers included:

Military

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as White Pine County, Nevada newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Probate

Probate records may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. They may include the decedent’s date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, etc. See Nevada Probate Records for additional information.

Public Records

Repositories

Courthouse

White Pine County Courthouse
953 Campton Street
PO Box 659
Ely, NV 89301-1002
775–289–2341

County Clerk has marriage records from 1885, divorce, probate and court records from 1907 and naturalization records. County Recorder has land records from 1885. [5]

Family History Centers

Introduction to LDS Family History Centers

Libraries
Museums
Societies
  • White Pine Historical Society
    White Pine County Museum
    2000 Aultman St.
    Ely, Nevada 89301
    775-289-4710
    www.wpmuseum.org

Taxation

Nevada tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records. Most tax records can be obtained from the county treasurer or assessor. For more information, see the wiki page Nevada Taxation. The Family History Library does not have copies of Nevada tax records (as of June 2013).

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most Nevada original records can be purchased from the Nevada State Health Division or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Nevada Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.

Birth
Marriage
Death

Websites

  • USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
  • FamilySearch Catalog

Places

Adverse Eberhardt Keystone Junction Mineral City Ruth
Baker Ely Kimberly Minerva Shermantown
Baltimore Mill Glenn Lane City Mosier Shoshone
Calumet Greens Lavon Osceola Steptoe
Cherry Creek Green Springs Lund Pogonip Stonehouse
Copper Flat Hamilton Majors Place Preston Tippett
Douglas Hogum McGill Riepetown Warm Springs
East Ely Keystone McGill Junction Ruppes Place Willow Grove

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. "Oregon California Trails Association" at http://octatrails.micromaps.com/ (accessed 18 July 2011).
  3. "The Pioneer Story: The Mormon Pioneer Trail" in The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints at http://lds.org/gospellibrary/pioneer/pioneerstory.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).
  4. Wikipedia contributors, "Central Overland Route" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Central_Overland_Route (accessed 13 September 2011).
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), White Pine County, Oregon page 443, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 23:08.
  • This page has been accessed 7,763 times.