Whitechapel St Mary, MiddlesexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Parishes

Guide to Whitechapel St Mary, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Whitechapel St Mary, Middlesex
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ossulstone (Tower Division)
County London
Poor Law Union Whitechapel PLU
Registration District Whitechapel
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558; Separate registers exist for Whitechapel St Jude (Middlesex) beginning 1848
Bishop's Transcripts: 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not created until 1858
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (London Division)
Location of Archive
London Record Office

Contents

Parish History

WHITECHAPEL (St. Mary), a parish, and the head of a union, in the Tower division of the hundred of Ossulstone, county of Middlesex; adjoining the city of London. There are places of worship for Baptists, Independents, Wesleyans, and other dissenters. In Little Aylie-street is the German Lutheran church, dedicated to St. George, a neat building with a campanile turret; and in Hooper's-square is a German Calvinistic chapel.[1]

Additional information:

The church building has been demolished.[2]

1831 description:

St Mary Whitechapel [1558], the church of, stands at the eastern end of Whitechapel High Street, at the south side of the beginning of the Whitechapel, or Mile-End Road. This church is of some antiquity, as appears from Hugh de Fulbourn, being its rector in 1329. It was originally a chapel of ease to the parish of Stepney, and is supposed to have received its epithet white, from the colour of its walls. The ancient name of this church was St Mary Matfel, which signifies a woman recently delivered of a son, alluding to the birth of Christ, to whose mother it is dedicated. The old church becoming very ruinous, it was taken down in 1673, and rebuilt as at present [~1830]. This church was anciently a rectory, in the gift of the rector of Stepney, in whose successors the patronage continued till 1711, when it was purchased by the principal and scholars of Brosenose College, Oxford. It is a rectory, in the diocese of London, and exempt from archidiaconal jurisdiction.[3]

Also known as St Mary Matfellon.

View a List of District Churches and Chapels Within the Parish of St Mary Whitechapel.

Resources

Church records

Online St Mary Whitechapel Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1558
1558
1558
Images
1558-1815 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[4]
1813-1906 Ancestry[5] 1754-1921 Ancestry[6] 1813-1930 Ancestry[7]
Indexes 1558-1875 FamilySearch[8] 1558-1576 BritishOrigins[9] 1758-1865 DocklandsAncestors[10]
1758-1865 DocklandsAncestors[10] 1606-1625 NewYorkFamilyHistory[11]
1606-1608 InternetArchive[11]    
1608-1610 InternetArchive[11]
1610-1614 InternetArchive[11]
1614-1616 InternetArchive[11]
1616-1617 InternetArchive[11]
1617-1621 InternetArchive[11]
1621-1622 InternetArchive[11]
1622-1624 InternetArchive[11]
1625 InternetArchive[11]
1758-1865 DocklandsAncestors[10]
    1800-1837 Ancestry[12]    

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Census and Inhabitants Lists

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438823.

1666 Hearth Tax
1693-1694 Four Shilling in the Pound Aid

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 22 January 2014.
  2. St Mary Matfelon's footprint, Whitechapel, GeoGraph, [1], Adapted. Date accessed: 2 January 2014.
  3. James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digitised by Google Books.
  4. London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Mary, Whitechapel in Tower Hamlet Borough. Marriages from 1754 to 1812 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
  5. London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Whitechapel St Mary in Tower Hamlets Borough. Partially indexed.
  6. London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Whitechapel St Mary in Tower Hamlets Borough. Partially indexed.
  7. London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Whitechapel St Mary in Tower Hamlets Borough. Partially indexed.
  8. Batches C006291, C006292, C006293, C006294, C006295, C006296, C006297, C006298, C006299, C005301, C005501, C005541, C005571 (inactive 7 Apr 2012), C005572 (inactive 7 Apr 2012), C005573 (inactive 7 Apr 2012), C005574 (inactive 7 Apr 2012), C005575 (inactive 7 Apr 2012), C005576 (now a Norway batch 7 Apr 2012), see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (N-Z), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 10 March 2012. Indexes parish register xx.
  9. 'Webb's London Marriages - Marriages, periods and parishes/churches,' British Origins, accessed 12 March 2012.
  10. 10.0 10.1 10.2 'Online Parish Register Search,' ParishRegister.com, accessed 12 March 2012.
  11. 11.0 11.1 11.2 11.3 11.4 11.5 11.6 11.7 11.8 11.9 John V.L. Pruyn, 'Weddings at St. Mary, Whitechapel, London, from A.D. 1606 to 1625,' The New York Genealogical and Biographical Record, 1606-1608: Vol. 19, No. 3 (Jul. 1888):103-109; 1608-1610: Vol. 20, No. 3 (Jul. 1889):132-138; 1610-1614: Vol. 20, No. 4 (Oct. 1889):181-189; 1614-1616: Vol. 21, No. 2 (Apr. 1890):87-90; 1616-1617: Vol. 22, No. 1 (Jan. 1891):52-56; 1617-1621: Vol. 22, No. 2 (Apr. 1891):75-77; 1621-1622: Vol. 22, No. 4 (Oct. 1891):204-207; 1622-1624: Vol. 23, No. 1 (Jan. 1892):42-47; 1625: Vol. 24, No. 1 (Jan. 1893):37-38. Digital version at New York Family History (£); FHL Book 974.7 B2n v. 19-24. Internet Archive has digitized Vol. 19, Vol. 20, Vol. 21, Vol. 22, Vol. 23, and Vol. 24 - free. Source for online access: WeRelate contributors, "Source:New York Genealogical and Biographical Record (New York Genealogical and Biographical Society)," in WeRelate, http://www.werelate.org/wiki/Source:New_York_Genealogical_and_Biographical_Record_%28New_York_Genealogical_and_Biographical_Society%29, accessed 17 February 2012.
  12. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 21 November 2014, at 17:15.
  • This page has been accessed 8,193 times.